Board of Directors

Image - Davis.jpg

Erroll B. Davis, Jr.

Retired Superintendent, Atlanta Public Schools

In 2011, Erroll B. Davis, Jr. began serving as superintendent for Atlanta Public Schools (APS).  He retired from this position at the end of June 2014.  Prior to joining APS, Davis was chancellor of the University System of Georgia, where he was responsible for 35 public colleges and universities, 302,000 students, 40,200 employees, and a $6.3 billion budget.

Before becoming chancellor, Davis was chairman of the board of Alliant Energy Corporation – an energy holding company with $8.3 billion in assets and operating revenues of $3 billion at the time. Davis joined Alliant as president and CEO.

Prior to Alliant’s creation, Davis was president and CEO of WPL Holdings.  He rose through the ranks at Wisconsin Power and Light Company – from VP of finance to president and CEO.

Davis was a member of the University of Wisconsin System Board of Regents and is a former chairman and current member of the board of trustees of Carnegie Mellon University.

A native of Pittsburgh, Pa., Davis earned a B.S. in electrical engineering from Carnegie Mellon University and an M.B.A. in finance from the University of Chicago.  He is also on the board of directors of General Motors and Union Pacific Corp.  He is on the advisory board of the Institute of Nuclear Power Operations (INPO) and a member of the National Academy of Sciences roundtable on community resilience.  He is a former member of the U.S. Olympic Committee Board and has served on the boards of numerous community based organizations.

Davis and his wife, Elaine, established the Davis Family Foundation, which makes annual grants to students in need. Davis holds other professional/civic affiliations, and has received numerous honors and awards. 

Mr. Davis is Vice Chair of the PBS Investment Subcommittee and serves on the Finance Committee and the Strategic Planning Advisory Group. He previously served on the Corporate Support Advisory Committee.