Board of Directors

Listed in Alphabetical Order:

Jon Abbott (2015)**
President & CEO
Boston, Massachusetts

Tom Axtell (2016)**
General Manager
Vegas PBS
Las Vegas, Nevada

Don Baer (Vice-Chair, 2014)*
Worldwide Chair and Chief Executive Officer, Burson-Marsteller;
Chairman, Penn, Schoen & Berland Associates
Washington, DC

Afsaneh Beschloss (2015)*
The Rock Creek Group
Washington, D.C.

Don Boswell (2014)*
President & CEO, WNED
Buffalo, New York

Malcolm Brett (Vice-Chair, 2014)**
Director of Broadcasting & Media Innovations 
Wisconsin Public Television
Madison, Wisconsin 

Ernest Bromley (2016)**
Chairman & CEO 
Bromley Communications
San Antonio, Texas

Ruby Calvert (2014)**
General Manager 
Wyoming PBS
Riverton, Wyoming 

Erroll B. Davis Jr. (2016)*
Superintendent, Atlanta Public Schools
Atlanta, Georgia

Jack Galmiche (2015)**
President & CEO 
St. Louis, Missouri

Helen Hernandez (2015)**
President & Founder
The Imagen Foundation
Encino, CA

Rich Homberg (2016)*
President & CEO
Detroit Public Television
Wixon, Michigan

Shae Hopkins (2016)*
Executive Director & CEO
Kentucky Educational Television
Lexington, Kentucky

Larry Irving (2014)*
President and CEO
The Irving Group
Washington, DC

Tom Karlo (2015)*
General Manager
San Diego, California

Paula Kerger
Public Broadcasting Service
Arlington, Virginia

Allan Landon (2014)*
Former Chairman  & CEO
of Bank of Hawaii
Park City, Utah

Linda O’Bryon (2015)*
President & CEO
South Carolina Educational Television
Columbia, South Carolina

Ramon Rodriguez (2016)*
Former Managing Partner & CEO
Madsen Sapp Mena Rodriguez & Co.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Robert Sachs (2015)***
Principal, Continental Consulting Group, LLC,
and former President & CEO of NCTA
Boston, Massachusetts

Geoffrey Sands (Chair) (2014)**
McKinsey & Company
New York, New York

Brian Sickora (2015)*
President & CEO
Binghamton, NY

Evan Smith (2015)*
CEO & Editor-in Chief
The Texas Tribune
Austin, TX

Leo Soong (2015)**
Crystal Geyser Water Co.
Walnut Creek, CA

JoAnn Urofsky (2016)**
General Manager 
Tampa, Florida

Lloyd Wright (2015)**
President & CEO
Indianapolis, Indiana

The Directors are responsible for governing and setting policy for PBS. In total, the Board comprises 27 members: 14 Professional Directors (station managers); 12 General Directors (outside directors); and the PBS President. All PBS Board members serve three-year terms, without pay.

Term expires at the October Organizational meeting of the Board in the year shown in parenthesis. 
*=First Term
**=Second Term
*** Filled Vacancy mid-term; eligible for two full subsequent terms.

  1. Support for provided by: