Visit Your Local PBS Station PBS Home PBS Home Programs A-Z TV Schedules Watch Video Donate Shop PBS Search PBS
Joseph Smith
Church History
& Beliefs

on PBS



PBS Online


Joseph Smith: Timeline

The Organization of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

April 6, 1830

Image: The Three Witnesses to the Book of Mormon, engraving by Charles B. Hall.  Image courtesy LDS Church Historical Department. The "Church of Jesus Christ" is officially organized in the home of Peter Whitmer, Sr., in Fayette, N. Y. Although about thirty people are present, only six—Joseph, Oliver, Hyrum Smith, Peter Whitmer, Jr., Samuel H. Smith, and David Whitmer—become the first legal members of the Church. After prayer, they sustain Joseph and Oliver, who ordain each other to the office of elder in the Church. The sacrament of bread and wine is passed. They lay their hands on each member of the Church for the gift of the Holy Ghost and confirmation as a member of the Church. Some prophesy and all praise the Lord and rejoice exceedingly.

Source: J. Christopher Conkling, A Joseph Smith Chronology, Deseret Book Company, 1979.

Back to Timeline

Back to PBS