Visit Your Local PBS Station PBS Home PBS Home Programs A-Z TV Schedules Watch Video Donate Shop PBS Search PBS
Amistad Academy StudentsClosing the Achievement Gap | Click here to return to homepage
Inside AmistadThe DebateVideo StoriesCharter School FAQPass It OnResourcesThe Program
Amistad in the NewsCharter School OrganizationsWeb guideKey Readings

Resources - Charter School Organizations

If you are interested in finding information about charter schools in your area, contact your state charter school resource center.

Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas| California| Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kansas | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | Wisconsin | Wyoming

ALASKA CHARTER SCHOOL ASSOCIATION
Barb Gerard, Secretary
Academy Charter School
260 S. Cobb Street
Palmer, AK 99645
907-746-2358
907-746-2368 (fax)
e-mail: Bgerard@msb.mat-su.k12.ak.us

ARIZONA REGIONAL RESOURCE CENTER
Rick Brown, Director
1840 E. Benson Highway
Tucson, AZ 85714
520-294-6997 x2019
520-682-4926 (fax)
e-mail: rbrown@resourcenter.org
Web site: www.resourcenter.org

ARKANSAS CHARTER SCHOOL RESOURCE CENTER
Michael T. Scoles
University of Central Arkansas
201 Donaghey Ave.
Conway, AR 72035
501-450-5418
e-mail: michaels@mail.uca.edu ; ACSRC@org.uca.edu

CALIFORNIA CHARTER SCHOOLS ASSOCIATION
Caprice Young, President/CEO
P.O. Box 811610
Los Angeles, CA 90017-3700
213-244-1446
213-244-1448 (fax)
916-448-0995 (Sacramento phone)
916-448-0998 (Sacramento fax)
e-mail: info@charterassociation.org
Web site: www.charterassociation.org

COLORADO LEAGUE OF CHARTER SCHOOLS
Jim Griffin, Director
1601 Vine St.
Denver, CO 80206
303-989-5356 office
303-984-9345 fax
e-mail: jim@coloradoleague.org
web site: www.coloradoleague.org

CONNECTICUT CHARTER SCHOOLS NETWORK
Claire Howard, Director
55 Walnut Street
New Haven, CT 06540
203-624-4552
e-mail:claireh77@aol.com
web site: www.ctcharterschools.org

DELAWARE CHARTER SCHOOLS NETWORK
Martha Manning, Director
100 West 10th Street, Suite 403
Wilmington, DE 19801
302-778-5999
302-778-5998 (fax)
e-mail: martha@decharternetwork.org
Web site: www.decharternetwork.org

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA : FRIENDS OF CHOICE IN URBAN SCHOOLS
Robert Cane, Director
1530 16th Street NW #1001
Washington, DC 20036
202-387-0405
202-667-3798 (fax)
e-mail: info@focus-dccharter.org
web site: www.focus-dccharter.org

FLORIDA CHARTER SCHOOL RESOURCE CENTER
Cathy Wooley-Brown, Director
Christy Noe, Assistant Director
University of South Florida
HMS 401
4202 E. Fowler Ave.
Tampa, FL 33620-8360
800-214-4247
813-974-8350
813-974-7823 (fax)
e-mail: cathy@iirp.coedu.usf.edu
e-mail: christy@iirp.coedu.usf.edu
web site: www.charterschools.usf.edu

GEORGIA: CHARTER SCHOOL RESOURCE CENTER
Kelly McCutcheon, Dr. Holly Robinson
Georgia Public Policy Foundation
6100 Lake Forest Drive, Suite 110
Atlanta, GA 30328
404-256-4050
404-256-9909
e-mail: hrobinson@gppf.org
web site: www.gppf.org

HAWAII CHARTER SCHOOLS RESOURCE CENTER
Nina Buchanan, Director
University of Hawaii
200 W. Kawili Street
Hilo, HI 96720
phone: (808) 974-7583
e-mail: ninab@hawaii.edu

IDAHO CHARTER SCHOOL NETWORK
Kerri Whitehead
Center for School Improvement,
MS 1745
Boise State University
Boise, ID 83725
208-426-2243
208-426-3564 (fax)
e-mail: kwhitehead@boisestate.edu
Web site: http://csi.boisestate.edu/icsn

ILLINOIS: CHARTER SCHOOL RESOURCE CENTER
Makiyah Moody, Director
Leadership for Quality Education
21 S. Clark St. Suite 3120
Chicago, IL 60603
(T) 312-853-3696
(F) 312-853-3413
e-mail: mmoody@lqe.org

CHARTER SCHOOL RESOURCE CENTER OF INDIANA
Dolly Bauman
Project E
10 W. Market St., Suite 1990
Indianapolis, IN 46204
317-464-2694
317-464-2039 (fax)
e-mail: dbauman@indianacharters.org
Web site: www.indianacharters.org

IOWA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Office of Charter Schools
Laurie Phelan
400 E. 14th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319
515-242-5611
e-mail: laurie.phelan@ed.state.ia.us

KANSAS EDUCATIONAL SERVICE COOPERATIVE
Jim Wheeler, Executive Director
601 Woodson, Box 320
Lecompton, KA 66050
785-887-6711
785-887-6711 (fax)
e-mail: jwheeler@nekesc.org
Web site: www.nekesc.org

LOUISIANA CHARTER SCHOOL ASSOCIATION
Jim Geiser, Director
9119 Redbud Street
Baton Rouge, LA 70815
225-603-7706
e-mail: jimgeiser3@cox.net
Web site: www.lacsa.org

MAINE ASSOCIATION FOR CHARTER SCHOOLS
Judith Jones
199 Hatchet Mountain Road
Hope, Maine 04847
207-763-3576
207-763-4552 (fax)
e-mail: wijones@tidewater.net
Web site: www.mainecharterschools.org

MARYLAND CHARTER SCHOOL NETWORK
Joni Gardner
597 Brightwood Rd.
Millersville, MD 21108
410-729-1585
410-987-3889 (fax)
e-mail: mcsn@comcast.net
List serv: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/marylandcharterschoolnetwork/

MASSACHUSETTS CHARTER SCHOOL ASSOCIATION
Marc Kenen, Ed.D., Executive Director
11 Beacon Street, Suite 430
Boston, MA 02108
617-973-6655
P.O. Box 147/132 Main Street
Haydenville, MA 01039
413-268-3361
413-268-3185 (fax)
e-mail: kenen@masscharterschools.org
Web site: www.masscharterschools.org

MICHIGAN: NATIONAL CHARTER SCHOOLS INSTITUTE
Teressa Staten, President
2520 South University Park
Mount Pleasant, MI 48858
989-774-2999
989-774-2591 (fax)
e-mail: info@nationalcharterschools.org
Web site: www.nationalcharterschools.org

MINNESOTA CHARTER SCHOOL RESOURCE CENTER
Aaron North, Director
Center for School Change
HHH Institute of Public Affairs
University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN 55455
612-625-7552
612-625-0104 (fax)
e-mail: cforman@hhh.umn.edu
Web site: www.hhh.umn.edu/centers/school-change

MISSISSIPPI: HAYES OGDEN CENTER
Beverly Hardy, Director
500 N. Martin Luther King, Jr.
Merigold, MS 38759
662-748-2734
e-mail: bbhardy123@hotmail.com

CHARTER SCHOOLS INFORMATION CENTER
Dave Camden, Director
35 North Central Avenue, Suite 335
St. Louis, MO 63105-3871
314-726-6474 office
314-721-4729 fax
e-mail: mocsic@aol.com
Web site: www.mocsic.org

NEBRASKA CHARTER SCHOOL COALITION
Rhonda Stuberg
230 68th Avenue
Omaha, NE 68132
402-558-4644
e-mail: rstuberg1@cox.net

CENTER FOR CHARTER SCHOOL DEVELOPMENT
NEVADA CHARTER SCHOOL ALLIANCE

Ricci Rodriguez-Elkins
P.O. Box 50128
Sparks, NV 89435-0128
775-626-4619 (phone and fax)
e-mail: ricci@ed-excellence.org
Web site: www.ed-excellence.org

NEW HAMPSHIRE CHARTER SCHOOL RESOURCE CENTER
Susan Hollins, Director
PO Box 2464
Concord, NH 03753
603-863-4411/603-863-0608
603-863-4880(fax)
e-mail: SuefromNH@aol.com

NEW JERSEY CHARTER SCHOOL RESOURCE CENTER
Heather Ngoma, Director
Rutgers University-Center for Effective School Practices
1 Possumtown Road
Piscataway, NJ 08854
732-564-9087
e-mail: hngoma@rci.rutgers.edu
Web site: http://cesp.rutgers.edu/csrc

NEW MEXICO COALITION FOR CHARTER SCHOOLS
Pam Pierce
P.O. Box 8624
Santa Fe, NM 87504-8624
505-983-1775
505-983-1998 (fax)
e-mail: bpp@hargray.com

NEW YORK CHARTER SCHOOL RESOURCE CENTER
Gerry Vazquez, Director
New York Charter School Resource Center
One Penn Plaza
250 W. 34th St. -- 36th Fl.
New York, NY 10119
212-896-3901
212-896-3902

1 Commerce Plaza Suite 402
99 Washington Avenue
Albany, NY 12210
Phone: 888-343-6907
Fax: 877-248-5326
e-mail: info@nycsrc.org; nycharters@yahoo.com
web site: www.nycsrc.org

NORTH CAROLINA: SELF-HELP, COMMUNITY FACILITIES FUND
Reginald Johnson
PO Box 3619
Durham, NC 27702-3619
919-956-4456
919-956-4600 (fax)
e-mail: reginald@self-help.org
web site: www.self-help.org

OHIO CHARTER SCHOOLS ASSOCIATION
Steve Ramsey, President
Anita Nelam, Vice President
Clint Satow, Vice President
50 West Broad Street #3050
Columbus, OH 43215
614-221-3992
614-225-0662 (fax)
e-mail: sramsey@ecr.net; cfastow@ohiocharterschools.org; AnitaNelan@aol.com
Web site: www.OhioCharterSchools.org

OKLAHOMA CHARTER SCHOOL ASSOCIATION
Janet Barisse
Independence Charter Middle School
3232 NW 65th St. Oklahoma City, OK 73116
(405)590-4797
e-mail: jajojobe@msn.com

OREGON CHARTER SCHOOL SERVICE CENTER
Rob Kremer, Director
9498 SW Barbur Blvd. #302
ortland, OR 97219
503-244-7523
503-244-3372 (fax)
e-mail: rob@oregoneducation.org

John Liljegren, Field Director
5832 SW 52nd Ave.
Portland, OR 97221
503-246-7883
503-246-7883 (fax)
e-mail: johnliljegren@msn.com
Web site: www.oregoneducation.org

PA CHARTER SCHOOL RESOURCE CENTER
Robert W. O'Donnell, Chairman
Melanie Burke Reiser, Director
2 Penn Center, Suite 1100
Philadelphia PA 19102
215-557-9919
215-563-6555 (fax)
e-mail: csrctr1@aol.com

RHODE ISLAND LEAGUE OF CHARTER SCHOOLS
Robert Pilkington
42 Weybosset #502
Providence, RI 02903
401-521-9433
401-521-9434 (fax)
e-mail: leagueofcharters@aol.com
Web site: www.RIcharterschools.com

SOUTH CAROLINA ASSOCIATION OF PUBLIC CHARTER SCHOOLS
David A. Church, President
103 North Main St. #200
Greenville, SC 29601
864-232-8654
864-232-8851 (fax)
email: davidchurch@gtchs.org

CHARTER SCHOOL RESOURCE CENTER OF TENNESSEE
Dedrick Briggs, Director
511 Union Street Suite 740
Nashville, TN 37219
615-248-6401
615-250-0586 (fax)
e-mail: dbriggs@myaetherbb.com

CHARTER SCHOOL RESOURCE CENTER OF TEXAS
Patsy O'Neill
40 NE Loop 410 - Ste. 408
San Antonio, TX 78216
210-348-7890 office
210-348-7899 fax
e-mail: oneillp@texas.net
Web site: www.charterstexas.org

UTAH CHARTER SCHOOL ASSOCIATION
Steve Winitzky
Center City School
55 N. Redwood Rd.
Salt Lake City, UT 84116
801-596-8489
801-521-4181 (fax)
e-mail: steve@centercityschool.org

VERMONTERS FOR BETTER EDUCATION
Libby Sternberg
170 North Church Street
Rutland VT 05701
802-773-5240
e-mail: LSteenberg@aol.com

THE THOMAS JEFFERSON INSTITUTE FOR PUBLIC POLICY
Chris Braunlich
Thomas Jefferson Institute
9035 Golden Sunset Lane
Springfield, VA 22153
703-922-6768
703-455-1531 (fax)
e-mail: c.braunlich@att.net

EDUCATION EXCELLENCE COALITION
Jim & Fawn Spady, co-directors
4426 - 2nd Avenue NE
Seattle, WA 98105-6191
Jim's office phone: 206/634-0589
Jim's cell phone: 206/949-8484
Fawn's cell phone: 206/295-6505
e-mail: JimSpady@aol.com; Fawn@winisp.net
Web site: http://www.wacharterschools.org/

INSTITUTE FOR THE TRANSFORMATION OF LEARNING
Howard Fuller, Director
Cindy Zautcke, Assoc. Director
Marquette University
750 N. 18th Street
PO Box 1881
Milwaukee, WI 53201-1881
414-288-5775 Fuller
414-288-1540 Zautcke
414-288-6199 fax
e-mail: cindy.zautcke@marquette.edu; Fuller59h@aol.com
Web site: www.itlmuonline.org

WYOMING CITIZENS FOR EDUCATIONAL CHOICE
Margarita Rovani
5635 Sunset Drive
Laramie, WY 82070
307-742-6515
e-mail: snowyrangeAcademy@yahoo.com



Home | Inside Amistad | The Debate | Video Stories
Charter School FAQ | Pass It On | Resources | The Program | Site Credits

© 2004 Corporation for Educational Radio & Television | PBS Privacy Policy