Thumbnail image for Screen shot 2010-11-24 at 10.50.52 AM.pngDid you miss last night’s premiere of Deep Down? Not to worry — thanks to the interwebs, we’ve got more ways for you to see it at your leisure, and to get involved with the issues and people in and behind the film.
Right here at PBS.org for example, you can watch the whole film online until Tuesday, November 30.
But wait, there’s more!


Screen shot 2010-11-24 at 10.56.19 AM.pngWe’re also planning to debut our fancy new online chat feature on Monday November 29 at 1 PM Pacific/4 PM Eastern. Join us right here on the Independent Lens blog to ask questions of filmmakers Sally Rubin and Jen Gilomen.
Not enough for you? Geez, you’re hard to please. OK, well, there’s yet another way you can see the film — on Wednesday, December 1 at 5 PM Pacific/8 PM Eastern, the filmmakers are hosting a live screening of the entire film followed by an interactive discussion inside the Virtual Mine in Second Life.
You can also attend that live discussion and screening just by checking out Deep Down‘s UStream channel at the appointed time (we’ll remind you).
Meanwhile, you can check out the Virtual Mine game that the filmmakers discussed at the end of the film. Try your hand at blasting the mine site, converting your town to renewable energy, and getting enough coal out of the mountain to keep the lights on. If successful, you might even get the chance to show off your white-hot dance moves in an old-fashioned Appalachian hoedown.