Around Independent Lens

Film Credits

Directed by
Louise Osmond
Jerry Rothwell

Produced by
Al Morrow
Jonny Persey

Produced by
John Smithson

Stewart Le Maréchal

Executive Producers
Francois Ivernel
Ralph Lee
Cameron McCracken
Paul Trijbits

Supervising Editor
Justine Wright

Edited by
Ben Lester

Director of Photography
Nina Kellgren BSC

Original Music by
Molly Nyman
Harry Escott

Supervising Sound Editor
Joakim Sundström

Production Designer
Jane Linz Roberts

Graphic Design

Narrated by
Tilda Swinton

(in alphabetical order)
Clare Crowhurst
Simon Crowhurst
Santiago Franchessi
Ted Hynds
Donald Kerr
Robin Knox-Johnston
Françoise Moitessier de Cazalet
Ron Winspear

Voice of Donald Crowhurst
Simon Russell Beale

Voice of Bernard Moitessier
Jean Badin

Co-produced and Original Treatment by
Jerry Rothwell

Executive Producer
Jonathan Banatvala

Voice Casting Director
Sarah Bird

Script Consultant
Sarah Golding

Production Accountant
Sarah Teboul

Additional Photography
David Katznelson DFF

Camera Assistant
Jamie Hammond

Focus Puller
Patrick Blake

Jem Morton

Sound Recordists
Ollie Astles-Jones
John Hagenstede
Stuart Thompson

John Colley
Ennio di Santolo
Justin Denchfield

Saul Harris

Marine Consultant
Tom Cochrane

Production Assistant
Anna Mohr Pietsch

Production Runners
Charlotte Bates
Patrick Whistler
Kalen Lee

Underwater Crew

Director of Photography
Mike Valentine

Focus Puller
Dean Morrish

Clapper Loader
James Lewis

Neil Blackman

Mark Campany

Diving Co-ordinator
Phoebe Rudomino

Safety Diver
Peter Harcourt

Underwater Co-ordinator
Francoise Valentine

Australia Crew

Additional Photography
Simon Chapman

Camera Assistant
Bonnie Elliot

Sound Recordist
Daren Clark

John Domeney

Enda Murray
Tom Tilley

Argentina Crew

Laura Zommer

Rafael Saralegui

Sound Recordist
Ricardo Renaldi

Canary Islands Crew

Additional Photography
Edward Rutherford

Clapper Loader
Peter Byrne

Captain (Hispaniola of Leath)
Chris Fox

Assistant Art Directors
Matt Hunter
Rupert Allan

Design Assistant
Ian Buchanan

Visual Scene
Gareth Bowen
Brett Naylor

Martin Cottis
Adam Hunter

Graphics Artists
Marcus Moresby
Adam Jenns
Carl Fairweather
Mark Warrington

Stills Scanning
Adam Shawyer

Unit Publicist
Charles McDonald
Stills Photographer
Ollie Upton

Additional Stills Photography
Nicky Watson
Andrew Walsh
Nina Kellgren
EPK Camera
Stuart Biddlecombe

Post Production Supervisor
Chris Atkins
Dan Bentham
S2S Post

Assistant Editors
Cinzia Baldessari
Mark Burton

Edit Assistant
Bjorn johnson

Re-recording Mixer
Per Boström
Sound Effects Editor
Christer Melén

Foley Artists
Lola Boström

Head of Post Production for Lipsync
Kevin Phelan

Senior Colourist
Stuart Fyvie

Associate Producer for Lipsync
Katja Lazare

Jeffrey May

Digital Lab Supervisor
James Clarke

Senior Digital Lab Operator
Scott Goulding

Digital Lab Operators
Will Foxwell
Daniel Tomlinson

Title Design

Specialist Archive Consultant
Cassandra Bennitt

Additional Research
Alix MacFarlane

Translation and Interpretation
Monique Harvey
Gordon Pirie
Caroline Beamish
Bertrand Cumet

Transcription Services
Take 1 Script Services

Archive Materials
BBC Motion Gallery
Anthony Brenner
The Crowhurst family
Colin Forbes
Austyn and Simon Hallworth
ITN Archive / British Pathe
Galatée Films
Getty Images
Granada International
Lindblad Expeditions
Teignmouth Post and Gazette
Françoise Moitessier de Cazalet
Stephan Moitessier
The Sunday Times
South West Film and Television Archive
Eve Tetley
Wild Cat Films

Legal Services Provided by
Lee & Thompson
Reno Antoniades
Max Cole

Additional Legal Services
Sophie Borowsky
Mark Cranwell

Post Production Script

Insurance Provided by
Kevin O’Shea

Sale and Leaseback Financier

Production Auditor
Grant Thornton

Production Banking Services
HSBC Camden

For Pathé

Head of Physical Production
Orlagh Collins

Head of Business Affairs
Vicky Skea

Finance Director
Simon Fawcett

International Sales
Mike Runagall

For UK Film Council

Senior Executive
Himesh Kar

Head of Production
Fiona Morham

Senior Business Affairs Executive
Natalie Bass

For Filmfour

Business Affairs Executive
Chris Irvine

Head of Business Affairs
Paul Grindey

Production Manager
Gerardine O’Flynn

For Darlow Smithson Productions

Physical Production
Ulla Streib

Business Affairs
Sally Shell

Archive Consultancy
Paul Gardner

Scanning and Telecine Transfers
Midnight Transfer
Duboi Paris

Video Deliverables
S2S Post

Sound Edited at
Limehouse Recordings

Sound Re-recorded at
Posthuset and Cinepost Studios, Stockholm

Lighting Equipment Supplied by
Arri Lighting and Lee Lighting

Camera & Ggrip Equipment Supplied by
Arri Media and Shift 4

Film Laboratory Work by
Soho Images

Film Stock by

Orchestra Recorded at
Air Studios, London

Music Mixed at
Pierce Rooms, London

Orchestra Leader
Gabrielle Lester

Orchestra Contractor
Isobel Griffiths

Live Recording Engineer
Steven Orchard

Music Mix Engineer
Jimmy Robertson

Counter Tenor
David Clegg

Music Arranged, Orchestrated and Conducted by
Molly Nyman and Harry Escott

“Cello Song”
Written and Performed by N. Drake
© Warlock Music Ltd
Published by Kobalt Music Publishing Ltd
Courtesy of Universal-Island Records Ltd
Licensed by kind permission from the Film & TV Licensing Division
Part of the Universal Music Group

“Crab Dance”
Written by Yusuf Islam
Performed by Cat Stevens
Published by EMI Music Publishing Ltd
Courtesy of Universal-Island Records Ltd
Licensed by kind permission from the Film & TV Licensing Division
Part of the Universal Music Group

“She Left Home”
Written by Djamel Ben Yelles
Performed by Djam & Fam
Published by Universal Music Publishing Ltd
Courtesy of Rhino UK

Nautical Charts & Publications Appeared Courtesy of
The UK Hydrographic Office

With Special Thanks to
Clare, Simon, Rachel and Roger Crowhurst
British Airway
Larry Bennett
Chay Blyth
Geoff Bowles
Ann and Robert Buchanan
Richard Caseby
Norma Chavero
Jane Darke
Tony Dowmunt
Mr Dupuy
Eastwoods Marina
Harold Evans
Guy Feldman
Alona Ferber
Adrianna Franchessi
Galatée Films
Sara Louise Gilmore
Andy Griffith
Paula Griffiths
Ian Hamilton
Denis Herbstein
Brian Hill
Terence Kelly
Bill King
Leonie King
Tarka King
Moses Kirkconnel
Bruce Maxwell
Winston McDermott
Leslie Mogford
Paul Morrison
John Norman
Philip Norman
Andy Porter
Alan Renton
Craig Rich
Simon Rooks
Maria Salvatti
Murray Sayle
Richard Stenning
Sunday Times
Teignmouth Museum
Tenerife Airlines
Eve Tetley
Paul Vanezis
Hal Watmough
Nicole Whittington

Filmed on location in Argentina, Cayman Brac, the Canary Islands, Metro Screen Studios Australia, Teignmouth and Bridgwater, England, and at Ealing Studios, Greenford Studios, Picture It Studios and Pinewood Studios, England.

This program was produced by Pathe Fund and UK Film Council which is solely responsible for its content.

© 2006 Pathé Fund Limited and UK Film Council. All rights reserved

Home | The Film | Race Map | The Making Of | The Filmmakers | Talkback | Film Credits | Get the DVD | Site Credits Watch Preview COMPAÑERAS