[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Film Credits

Produced, Directed and Written by
Byron Hurt

Co-Produced and Edited by
Sabrina Schmidt Gordon

Director of Photography
Bill Winters

Additional Photography
Rico Beard
Byron Hurt
Napoleon Juaniza
William Luther
Kazz Pinkard
Parrish Smith

Andre Artis
Kerry Hustwit
Caleb Mose
David Pruger
Jay Lavely
Suzi Lee

Production Still Photographers
Robert Lee Hughie
Colleen Norman
Malik Wright

Patricia Aufderheide
Orlando Bagwell
Carol Bash
Cornelius Byrd
Lewis Erskine
Jeannie Gordon
Taundra Hurt
Peter Jaszi
Jackson Katz
Emir Lewis
Michelle Mattere
Stanley Nelson
Caleb Oglesby
Sam Pollard
Marcia Smith
Algernon Tunsil
Quentin Walcott

Writing Consultant
Sabrina Schmidt Gordon

Graphic Designer
Katie Marsh

Design Firm
Kounterattack Design

Production Bookkeeper
Kenya Crumel

Production Accountant
Arthur P. Fishman

Accounting Firm
DunRite Financial Services

Online/Color Correction
Will Cox

Assistant Online Editor
Sandy Patch

Online Facility
Final Frame

Audio Post Production Supervisor
Jim Roberts

Audio Post Production Facility
Brandon Productions, Inc.

Recording Engineer
Scott Cresswell

Legal Services
Cowan DeBaets Abrahams & Sheppard LLP
Frankfurt Kurnit Klein & Selz, PC

Additional Legal Services
Kyle Edmonds, Esq.
Earl Brown, Esq.
Robert Friedman
Kenneth Robinson
Lisa Davis
Amy Vernitz
Jean Voutsinas

ITVS Communications Department

Kenya Crumel
Byron Hurt
Sabrina Schmidt Gordon

Archival Research
Sabrina Schmidt Gordon
Byron Hurt

Production Assistants
Vickrum Gandhi
Tamika Guishard
Chad Hogan
Carletta Hurt
Katherine Kirk
Sherri Langsam
Trevor Montgomery
Charles Reagan
Jamila Swift
Malik Wright

Tainah Georges

Marci Jewitt

Additional Transcribers
Kenya Crumel
Byron Hurt

Tape Duplications
Aargil Video & Film
RP Video Enterprises, Inc.
Final Frame

Tape Stock
Film Emporium
The Tape Company

Insurance Coverage
Near North Insurance Brokerage of New York, Inc.

God Bless the Child Productions Web Design
Ali Santana

Additional God Bless the Child Productions Web Support
Graphic Vision Media
KounterAttack Design

Speaker's Bureau
Lordly and Dame, Inc.

Kevin MacRae

Thank You
Charlie Ahearn
Jo Anderson
Antonio Arrendel
A Call to Men
Wilbert Bartlett
Earl Brown
Andrew Bruch
Ted Bunch
Brad Burford
Duana Butler
California State University at Long Beach
California Coalition Against Sexual Assault (CALCASA)
Center for Social Media at American University, School of Communication
CUNY-Brooklyn College
CUNY-Hunter College
Eliana Chaney
Sonya Childress
Nicole Colber-Lake
Rhea Combs
Cathy Cohen
Leslie Fields-Cruz
The Crumel Family
Louise Dogan
Fred Edmonds
Eve Ensler
Shelley Eriksen
Shawn Escoffery
Essence Magazine Take Back The Music Committee
Sean Fagan
Amanda Fuentes
The Gordon Family
Claudette Gordon
Jean-Claude Gordon
Laurens Grant
Lydia Guy
Mabel Haddock
Harriet's Alter Ego
Loren Harris
Karen Howley
The Hogan Family
The Hurt Family
Frances Hurt
Jackie Hurt
Q Hurt
Stacy Hurt
Chuck Jones
Jacqui Jones
Jean Kilbourne
Michael Kimmel
Darren Leafton Kirton, Esq.
Madeline Kirton, Esq.
Rena Kosersky
Richard Lapchick
Don MacPherson
Nick Marino
C. Nicole Mason
Trevor Middleton
Trevor Montgormery
Cornelius Moore
National Sexual Violence Resource Center
Jeff O'Bryant
Richard O'Connell
Dave Ortiz
Miriam Petty
Tony Porter
Sarah Rankin
Lori Robinson
Georgia Roberts
Heather Searles
Jane Segadelli
Tyson Smith
Suemedha Sood
Jean Sullivan
Cynthia Taylor
Institute on Ethnicity, Culture, and the Modern Experience
Institute on Domestic Violence in the African American Community
Nassau Community College
National Women's Alliance
New York Black Journalist Association
Northeastern University
Northeastern University's Center for the Center of Sport In Society
Safe Horizon
Spelman College
Stanford University
Stony Brook University
The Mentors in Violence Prevention (MVP) Program
SNAP, Inc.
The Black Documentary Collective
The Hip-Hop Summit Action Network
The National Association of Men Committed to Ending Violence Against Women
The Northern Westchester Shelter
The Pace University Women's Justice
The Sundance Film Festival
University of Chicago, Center for the Study of Race, Politics and Culture
University of Massachusetts at Amherst
University of Pennsylvania
University of Virginia
Lois Vossen
Washington Coalition of Sexual Assault Programs
Washington University
Western Washington University
Dr. Carolyn West
Elvita Williams
Oliver Williams
Bill Winters, Sr.
Dolly Winters
Young Feminists of NOW

Special Thanks
Kool DJ Red Alert
Afrikaa Bambaata
Moya Bailey
Kurtis Blow
Kid Capri
Rosa Clemente
Andrea Cleveland
Stanley Crouch
Bone Crusher
Rah Digga
Jermaine DuPri
Grand Master Flash
Irv Gotti
LL Cool J
Wyclef Jean
Jazzy Joyce
Norman Kelly
DJ Kut
MC Lyte
JT Money
Joan Morgan
Dr. Benjamin Chavis Muhammad
Keith Murray
Naughty By Nature
Gutherie Ramsey
Rev. Run
Buckshot Shorty
April Silver
Sarah Stokes
Tony Tone
Cornel West
Pharrell Williams
Jocelyn Wyms

Executive Producer for ITVS
Sally Jo Fifer

Funding for this program was provided by
The Ford Foundation
Friend of a Friend Campaign

HIP-HOP: Beyond Beats and Rhymes is produced by God Bless the Child Productions in association with the Independent Television Service (ITVS)  with funding provided by the Corporation for Public Broadcasting  and the National Black Programming Consortia (NBPC)

This program was produced by God Bless the Child Productions which is solely responsible for its content.

© 2006 God Bless the Child Productions.  All rights reserved.


Learn More Get Involved Talkback