U.S. Senate Approves Kagan to Join Supreme Court

BY Quinn Bowman  August 5, 2010 at 4:47 PM EDT

The U.S. Senate voted 63 to 37 Thursday afternoon to approve Elena Kagan as an associate justice to the Supreme Court, making her the fourth woman to become a justice on the nation’s highest court and the third woman on the current court.

President Obama said from Chicago that Kagan’s confirmation was”an affirmation of her character and her temperament; her open-mindedness and evenhandedness; her determination to hear all sides of every story and consider all possible arguments.”

Kagan is not expected to dramatically change the ideological balance of the court. She was appointed by President Obama to replace retiring associate justice John Paul Stevens, a reliable vote in the liberal bloc of the court.

The vote was mostly along party lines, with five Republican senators and two independents voting with Democrats for her confirmation. Nebraska Democrat Ben Nelson was the only senator in his party to join Republicans in voting against her.

We’ll have more about the confirmation proceedings on Thursday’s NewsHour broadcast. You can follow our full coverage of her nomination and confirmation process here.

Here’s the roll call for Thursday’s vote. A “yes” is a vote to confirm the nomination.

ALABAMASessions (R), NoShelby (R), NoÂ
ALASKABegich (D), YesMurkowski (R), NoÂ
ARIZONAKyl (R), NoMcCain (R), NoÂ
ARKANSASLincoln (D), YesPryor (D), Yes
CALIFORNIABoxer (D), YesFeinstein (D), Yes
COLORADOBennet (D), YesUdall (D), Yes
CONNECTICUTDodd (D), YesLieberman (I), Yes
DELAWARECarper (D), YesKaufman (D), Yes
FLORIDALeMieux (R), NoNelson (D), Yes
GEORGIAChambliss (R), NoIsakson (R), NoÂ
HAWAIIAkaka (D), YesInouye (D), Yes
IDAHOCrapo (R), NoRisch (R), NoÂ
ILLINOISBurris (D), YesDurbin (D), Yes
INDIANABayh (D), YesLugar (R), Yes
IOWAGrassley (R), NoHarkin (D), Yes
KANSASBrownback (R), NoRoberts (R), NoÂ
KENTUCKYBunning (R), NoMcConnell (R), NoÂ
LOUISIANALandrieu (D), YesVitter (R), NoÂ
MAINECollins (R), YesSnowe (R), Yes
MARYLANDCardin (D), YesMikulski (D), Yes
MASSACHUSETTSBrown (R), NoKerry (D), Yes
MICHIGANLevin (D), YesStabenow (D), Yes
MINNESOTAFranken (D), YesKlobuchar (D), Yes
MISSISSIPPICochran (R), NoWicker (R), NoÂ
MISSOURIBond (R), NoMcCaskill (D), Yes
MONTANABaucus (D), YesTester (D), Yes
NEBRASKAJohanns (R), NoNelson (D), NoÂ
NEVADAEnsign (R), NoReid (D), Yes
NEW HAMPSHIREGregg (R), YesShaheen (D), Yes
NEW JERSEYLautenberg (D), YesMenendez (D), Yes
NEW MEXICOBingaman (D), YesUdall (D), Yes
NEW YORKGillibrand (D), YesSchumer (D), Yes
NORTH CAROLINABurr (R), NoHagan (D), Yes
NORTH DAKOTAConrad (D), YesDorgan (D), Yes
OHIOBrown (D), YesVoinovich (R), NoÂ
OKLAHOMACoburn (R), NoInhofe (R), NoÂ
OREGONMerkley (D), YesWyden (D), Yes
PENNSYLVANIACasey (D), YesSpecter (D), Yes
RHODE ISLANDReed (D), YesWhitehouse (D), Yes
SOUTH CAROLINADeMint (R), NoGraham (R), Yes
SOUTH DAKOTAJohnson (D), YesThune (R), NoÂ
TENNESSEEAlexander (R), NoCorker (R), NoÂ
TEXASCornyn (R), NoHutchison (R), NoÂ
UTAHBennett (R), NoHatch (R), NoÂ
VERMONTLeahy (D), YesSanders (I), Yes
VIRGINIAWarner (D), YesWebb (D), Yes
WASHINGTONCantwell (D), YesMurray (D), Yes
WEST VIRGINIAGoodwin (D), YesRockefeller (D), Yes
WISCONSINFeingold (D), YesKohl (D), Yes
WYOMINGBarrasso (R), NoEnzi (R), NoÂ