Skip to content


Production Credits

Directed, Produced, & Written by
Ramona Diaz

Executive Producer
Tony Gloria

Edited by
Leah Marino

Grace Gonzales-Amper
Rhea Espedido
Angel Alim-Flores
Dorotea Godinez

Cinematography by
Gretchen Hildebran
Gabriel Goodenough


Miguel V. Fabie III

Associate Producer - Production
Tag Gieselman

Associate Producer – Post Production
Cucillo Consad

Original Music by
Graham Reynolds

Location Sound by
Paul Flinton
Ruel Amorsolo
Nel Sabiano
Rick Angelella

Philippine Line Producers
Veronica Velasco
Noemi Peji
Jaff Flores

Editing Consultant
Mary Lampson

Assistant Camera
Errol Afed
Jun Bual
Paul Tanedo

Additional Camera
Cucillo Consad
Eric Blair

Production Assistant Toffee de Guzman

Service Vehicle Driver
Val Espinosa

Executive Post Producer for Video Arts/San Francisco
David O. Weissman

Ed Rudolph

Online Editor
Loren Sorensen

Dialogue Editing for Studio Unknown
David West, MPSE
Kevin Hill

Sound Designer
David West, MPSE

Re-Recording Mixer Kevin Hill

Title Graphics
Will Hornaday

Opening Title Animation by
Castleview Productions

Subtitles by
Ida Anita del Mundo
Clodualdo del Mundo, Jr.

Copyright Clearances
The Rights Workshop


Accounting Services
Brantner and Associates

Insurance Services
D.R. Reiff & Associates

Production Manager for ITVS
Cheryl Hirasa

Producer for Unitel Productions
Tito Velasco

“I Am A Filipino”
Poem by Dr. Ruth S. Mabanglo

Written by P. Barry, E. Iglesias, M. Taylor

"I Will Survive"
Written by D. Fekaris, F. Perren
Performed by Gloria Gaynor
Courtesy of Universal Music Enterprises

"I've Never Been To Me"
Written by R. Miller, K. Kirsch

"Tell Me Where It Hurts"
Written by Diane Warren

“Silent Night, Holy Night”
Written by Josef Mohr
Translated to English by John F. Young
Music by Franz X. Gruber

“I’ll Be There”
Written by Berry Gordy Jr., Willie Hutch,
Hal Davis, Bob West

Special Thanks
The Alim Family
Anjilou I. Flores
Joseph, Gaddiel, and Gavriel Amper
Mary Joy Gonzales
Gloriosa Bendula
Emmanuel, Justine and Carlo Espedido
The Lastica Family
Roselyn Funa
The Godinez Family
Matilde Oporto

Independent Television Service
Claire Aguilar
Richard Saiz

Center for Asian American Media
Stephen Gong
Sapana Sakya
Donald Young
Ellen Park

Sundance Documentary Institute
Cara Mertes
Rahdi Taylor
Kristin Feeley
Win Sie Tow

For American Documentary | POV
Cynthia Lopez
Chris White
Yance Ford
Anne Del Castillo
Andrew Catauro

Jaime Horrigan

Kim Salyer
Sharon Nichols

Sundance Documentary Story and Edit Lab Advisors
Kate Amend
Jean Philippe Boucicaut
Robb Moss
Laura Poitras
Jean Tsien

Baltimore City Public School System
Vanessa Pyatt
George Duque
Cheryl Curtis
Hannah Mazo

Polytechnic Institute of Baltimore
Dr. Barney Wilson
Jacqueline Williams
Dennis Djutris

Renaissance Academy
Karl Perry
Janet Lattie

Harlem Park Community School
Teresa A. Lance
Meagar Young
Maggie Stokes

Lockerman Bundy Elementary
Cynthia Cunningham

The Students
Cynthia Johnson
Shelby Halliburton
Vanessa Oguamanam Candace Jackson
Saadiqa Bint-Ali
Bronte Billy
Adrian Nelson-Blake
Javan Simpkins
Aisha Hawkins
Ronald Butler
Jonathan Mayfield
Picard Beane
Lachelle Fisher
Keishawna Fields
Marvin Howard
Christian Kendall
Shawna Webb
Keisha Dantzler
Nicole Dantzler
Ningeria Freeman
Jeremy Reed
Demarco Meekins
Brandon Smith
Stacy Harrington
Ely Gary
Thomas Grant
Allen Darius
Robert Joyner
Melissa Manigo
Markese Teachy
Geneva Williams
Teshawna Brooks
Adonica Chisholm
Irby Iman
Terrel Rey Smith
Keishawna Smith
Parquita Hicks
Timothy Borum
Constance Carter
Brittany Byrd
Darian Mackey
Andrea Ross
Jade Randolph
Luis Arroyo
Sterling Actie
Richard Woodson
Tywon Bynum
Muktass Rowland
Jerell Williams
Antoinette Williams
Reynaldo Stokes
Anthony Bell
Jerrid Sampson
Antoinne Scott
Donte Scruggs
Michelle Bessicks
Terrell Jarrett
Idea Manning
JR Miller
Shantae Michaels
Troy Fenwick
Charles Couser
Daquan Hunt
Ronald Shaw
Marcelis Bradford
Davon Gunther
Tyreek Porter
Donae Frasier
Deon Grave
Dawuan McWhite
Mathew Smith

And all the other students who participated in the production of this film

The Filipino Teachers
Aileen Mercado
Rowena Edrolin
Judie Desulo-Siao
Fe Bolado (RIP)
Aireen Samson
Analee Carlos
Arlyn Braga-Elorde
Arturo Tanjuakio
Beth Lapa
Cecile Tabaniag
Celia Chanderamani
Corazon Balagot
Dan August Erfe
Dominga Chao-Ayan
Dr. Ma. Loreto Avila
Edna Negru
Emida Palo
Eva Eva
Eva Gapulan
Evelyn Redrico
Hazel Marcelino
Herminio Lagat
Isabela Mangonon
Jasmine Castillo
Jessica Longboan
Jomar Saguibo
Jun Erfelo
Khenny Bandas Agnapan
Kim David
Lourdes Ferrer
Lourdes Velasco
Mariella Calalang
Marlyn Gesmundo
Nelson Hubilla
Ranni Paras
Rodolfo Erfelo
Rose Gamboa
Rose Ramos
Ruben Alturas
Ruby Agbuya
Russell Caber
Sherwin Alconis
Teresita Totanes
Virginia Lodias
Willy Herrera

Marietta English
Jed Deitz
Hannah Byron
Jack Gerbes
Felix Andara Patrick Wright
Ferdie and Lani Conda
Bob Hedrich
Evelyn Quintos
Ligaya Avenida
Margaret Steiner
Rachel Shaw
Jessica Johnson
Julie Mackaman
Sara Neufeld

Karen Schmeer


Rajiv Rimal
Sabina Diaz-Rimal

For Mom

Executive Producer for ITVS
Sally Jo Fifer

Executive Producer for American Documentary | POV
Simon Kilmurry

Funding provided by a grant from the Sundance Documentary Film Program
Production support provided by Unitel Pictures.

The Learning is a co-production of CineDiaz and the Independent Television Service (ITVS) in association with The Center for Asian American Media (CAAM), with funding provided by the Corporation for Public Broadcasting (CPB), and American Documentary | POV.

The Learning was produced by CineDiaz, Inc. which is solely responsible for its content.
© 2011 CineDiaz, Inc. All Rights Reserved

Talk About This

Share This

While I was born and raised in the Philippines, I’ve lived my entire adult life in the United States. I’m both an insider and an outsider, which allows me to have a distinct point of view.”

— Ramona Diaz, Filmmaker

Upcoming Films