The Lincoln Awards: A Concert for Veterans & the Military Family

The Lincoln Awards: A Concert for Veterans & the Military Family premiered May 2015.

About the Program

The Lincoln Awards: A Concert for Veterans & the Military Family recognizes outstanding achievement and excellence in providing opportunities and support to our nation’s veterans and military families.

Presented by The Friars Foundation, the charitable arm of the legendary Friars Club, The Lincoln Awards are the first ever event of this kind.

Read more about the program below.

A Closer Look at The Lincoln Awards

More About the Program

The Lincoln Awards partnered with nearly fifty veteran and government organizations — including the U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs, the Elizabeth Dole Foundation and Walter Reed National Military Medical Center— to distribute free tickets to active-duty service members, veterans and wounded warriors, along with their caregivers and family members.

On January 7, 2015, The Lincoln Awards honored its ten inaugural recipients with a special concert at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts Concert Hall.

The exciting, celebratory night in honor of our veterans and their supporters includes appearances from Dr. Jill Biden, The American Military Spouses Choir, Alec Baldwin, Jon Bernthal, Aloe Blacc, Whitney Cummings, Gavin DeGraw, Rhiannon Giddens, Nick Jonas, Miss America Kira Kazantsev, Harvey Keitel, Jerry Lewis, The Lone Bellow, JR Martinez, Gregory Porter, Rob Riggle and Arturo Sandoval.

The Lincoln Awards is named in honor of President Abraham Lincoln, whose second inaugural address laid the groundwork for The U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs:

“With malice toward none, with charity for all, with firmness in the right as God gives us to see the right, let us strive on to finish the work we are in, to bind up the nation’s wounds, to care for him who shall have borne the battle and for his widow and his orphan, to do all which may achieve and cherish a just and lasting peace among ourselves and with all nations.”

Learn more about the 2015 Lincoln Award recipients.


The Lincoln Awards was created by Michael Gyure, Michael B. Matuza, Cappy McGarr and Tommy Sowers.
The program was produced by MBM Entertainment and Cappy Productions.

Visit the official Awards website for more information
and to submit nominations.

Each recipient has been selected from hundreds of public nominations across ten categories by a 15-member selection committee made up of leaders of veterans organizations, former VA officials, journalists who have covered military issues and noted academics.


Related Links

National broadcast funding by: Leonard A. Wilf and William F. Austin

Official airline partner of The Lincoln Awards:  

Delta Air LinesDelta Air Lines
| The Lincoln Awards: A Concert for Veterans & the Military Family
Choose Station
When to watch

The Lincoln Awards: A Concert for Veterans & the Military Family

Local Station:

Choose Station

Support your local PBS station

PBS LearningMediaPBS LearningMedia

PBS Video App

Stream the best of PBS.
Anytime, anywhere.

television laptop tablet phone
Download the Free App