Steve Martin The Kennedy Center Presents: The 2005 Mark Twain Prize celebrating Steve Martin
Steve Martin
About the Show
Recipient Steve Martin
All-Star Cast
Related Links

Photo: Scott Suchman
Broadcast Information

The Kennedy Center Presents: The 2005 Mark Twain Prize celebrating Steve Martin premiered Wednesday, November 9, 2005 at 9:00 p.m. on PBS stations nationwide.

the 2005 mark twain prize

Taped at The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts on October 23, 2005, the two-hour special features tributes and comic performances from an all-star cast of Martin's friends and colleagues including Dave Barry, Claire Danes, Larry David, Tom Hanks, Eric Idle, Diane Keaton, Queen Latifah, Randy Newman, Martin Short and Paul Simon. Former Mark Twain Prize recipients Carl Reiner, Lily Tomlin and Lorne Michaels were also in attendance.

Upon learning that he had won the Mark Twain Prize, Martin remarked, "I think Mark Twain is a great guy, and I can't wait to meet him."

Martin, a Renaissance humorist, is an actor, comedian, author, and playwright who has won numerous awards for his performances and his writing. His many films that he both wrote and starred in include "Dead Men Don't Wear Plaid," "The Man with Two Brains," "Roxanne," "L.A. Story," and "Bowfinger." Other films he has appeared in include the blockbusters "Father of the Bride," "Parenthood," "Cheaper by the Dozen," and "Bringing Down the House." He has had two plays produced Off Broadway: "Picasso at the Lapin Agile" and "The Underpants," an adaptation of a 1911 play by Carl Sternheim. He has published two novellas, "Shopgirl" and "The Pleasure of My Company," as well as a collection of comic pieces entitled "Pure Drivel." His work frequently appears in The New Yorker and the New York Times.

Steve Martin is the eighth recipient of The Kennedy Center Mark Twain Prize for American Humor.


Executive Producers: Bob Kaminsky, Peter Kaminsky, Mark Krantz, Michael M. Kaiser, Cappy McGarr
> more credits
> about the producers