Part One: Beautiful Texas
Part Two: My Fellow Americans

Written & Produced by
David Grubin

Senior Producer
Chana Gazit

Edited by
Geof Bartz
Tom Haneke

Narrated by
David McCullough

Michael Bacon

William B. McCullough

Associate Producers
Hillary Dann
Sam Sills

Series Associate Producer
Laura Jean Ozment

Post-Production Supervisor
Ron Hershey

Assistant Editors
Ron Hershey
Amy Seplin
Marcelle Pecot
Nancy Beth Graydon

Roger Phenix

Ned Hallick

Chuck Smith
Kate Tapley
Adam Schenck

Film Research
Deborah Ricketts
Thaxton Green Studios
Great American Stock
Lorena Parlee

Photo Research
Diana Claigtor
Sara Clark

Sound Editors
Dan Edelstein
Donald Klocek

Assistant Sound Editor
Amy Seplin
Frances Curiazza

Production Coordinator, Washington, DC
Miriam A. Zimmerman

Location Coordinators
Lisa Kleypas
Liliana Gruz

Additional Lighting
Scott Ramsey

Assistant Camera
Peter R. Hawkins
Don Grissom
Brett Wiley

Apprentice Editor
Sheila Moloney
Peter Stader

Production Assistants
Bill Nye
Susan Brignoli

Re-recording Mixer
Peter Page

Video Editor
David Vinik

Christopher Kogler
Rob Issen

Special Thanks to
E. Philip Scott
Lyndon Baines Johnson Library

Archival Film Sources:
CBS News Archives
Estuary Press Archives
Fox/Movietone News
Felix Greene/Contemporary Films
Sherman Grinberg Film Libraries
Hearst/Metrotone News
MacDonald & Associates
NBC News Archives
UCLA Film and Television Archives
David L. Wolper Productions
Worldwide Television News

Archival Film Courtesy of:
Department of Defense
Lyndon Baines Johnson Library
Mrs. Lyndon Baines Johnson
John F. Kennedy Library
National Archives

Archival Photo Sources:
The Bettman Archive
John Bryson
Tom McAvoy, LIFE Magazine, copyright TIME/WARNER
New York Review of Books
Richard Pipes
The Saturday Evening Post
Paul Schutzer, LIFE Magazine, copyright TIME/WARNER
George Tames/The New York Times
UPI/Bettmann Newsphotos
The Washington Post
Wide World Photos, Inc.

Archival Photos Courtesy of:
The American Statesmen
Austin History Center
Barker Texas History Center
Dallas Morning News
Dirksen Congressional Center
Neil Douglas
Fort Worth Star Telegram
Mike Geissinger
Lyndon Baines Johnson Library
John F. Kennedy Library
Bill Kidd/Long News Service
Library of Congress
Lower Colorado River Authority
Frank Muto
National Air and Space Administration
National Archives
New Jersey Newsphotos
Newsweek Inc.
Rob O'Hair
The Sam Rayburn Library
Reni Newsphoto Service, Inc.
Franklin D. Roosevelt Library
Richard B. Russell Memorial Library
South Texas Museum
Cecil Stoughton
Texas Department of Highways
White House Photos
Frank Wolfe

"LBJ Waltz" Adapted from "Jesus, Remember Me"
by Jacques Bertier
Les Presse de Tazie
GIA Publications Inc./North American Agency

"Beautiful, Beautiful Texas"
by W. Lee O'Daniel
Performed by W. Lee O'Daniel & His Hillbilly Boys
Shapiro Bernstein & Co. Inc.
SONY Music Licensing

"San Antonio Rose"
Written/Performed by James Robert Wills
Bourne Co.
SONY Music Licensing

"Deep in the Heart of Texas"
by June Hershey/Don Swander
Performed by Gene Autry
Melody Lane Publishing Inc.
SONY Music Licensing

"Happy Days"
by Milton Ajer & Jack Yellen
EMI Robins Catalog Inc.

"Hello, Lyndon!", a Variation of "Hello, Dolly!"
Writer: Jerry Herman
Publisher: Edwin H. Morris & Company
A Division of MPL Communications, Inc.

"Lyndon Johnson Told the Nation"
Written/Performed by Tom Paxton
EMI U Catalog Inc.
Flying Fish Records

"Pass the Biscuits"
by W. Lee O'Daniel
Performed by W. Lee O'Daniel & His Light Crust Dough Boys
SONY Music Licensing

James MacGregor Burns
Paul K. Conkin
Robert Dallek
Robert A. Divine
Doris Kearns Goodwin
Herbert S. Parmet

Rights Coordinator
Jessica L. Narowlansky

Jeannine Dominy

Production Executive
Dana Fox

Executive Producers
Patricia Perini
David Grubin


Unit Management
Suzanne Dooley
Deborah Sublett

Martin Carr
Stan Matthews
Michal Regunberg
Debra Skriba

Business Manager
Rick Tracy

Contact Coordinator
Deanna Collingwood

This program was made possible in part by a grant from THE NATIONAL ENDOWMENT FOR THE HUMANITIES

Partial Funding Provided by
Texas Committee For The Humanities
North Texas Public broadcasting, Inc.

Copyright 1991 All Rights Reserved


Post Production
Vanessa Ezersky
Glenn Fukushima

Series Designer
Alison Kennedy

On-Line Editors
Spencer Gentry

Sound Mix
John Jenkins

Series Theme
Joel Goodman

Molly Jacobs
Tory Starr

Production Manager
Nancy Sherman

Jay Fialkov
Janice Flood
Scott Kardel

Project Administration
Susana Fernandes
Pamela Gaudiano
Lauren Noyes

Marketing and Publicity
Mary Lugo
Cara White

Project Manager
Lauren Prestileo

Series Manager
James E. Dunford

Coordinating Producer
Susan Mottau

Series Producer
Susan Bellows

Senior Producer
Sharon Grimberg

Executive Producer
Mark Samels

A KERA Production in association with David Grubin Productions, Inc. for

Any views, findings, conclusions, or recommendations expressed in this website do not necessarily represent those of the National Endowment for the Humanities.

©1991, 1998 WGBH Educational Foundation

All rights reserved.

My American Experience

My American Experience photos

Share Your Story

Who is your favorite 20th-century American president? Was it FDR? Reagan? Clinton? Or one of the other 14 men who helped usher the United Sates through the 1900s? Who do you think was the most influential?

  • Additional funding for this program was provided by

  • NEH