Rollover Information
About the Series Schedule The Archive Learning Resources The American Collection Home Search Shop
Programs The Archive Database The Poster Gallery Awards + Nominations Broadcast Schedule Feature Library  Masterpiece Theatre Home The Archive Archive

The Archive Database [imagemap with 4 links]

previous program program next program

Program Title
Piece of Cake

Based On
The novel by Derek Robinson

Adapted By
Leon Griffiths

1 2 3 4 5 6

'Piece of Cake' follows the adventures, the heartaches and the rites of passage of a squadron of Royal Air Force pilots during the chaotic first year of the Second World War. For most of the young men, their posting to France in September 1939 is the first time they have left the shores of England. They spend the initial lazy, late summer days of the phoney war billeted in an idyllic French chateau, pampered by their charismatic Squadron Leader Rex but straining for real action. But when the action begins, it shatters the Hornet Squadron along with the rest of Europe. To survive the daily dogfights in the sky, the men had to develop the skills and the wily, aggressive instincts of successful fighter pilots. Such skills--hard-earned through direct experience--were to win the Battle of Britain.

Episodes: 1 2 3 4 5 6

previous program program next program

The Archive Database | Program History | Poster Gallery | Awards

Home | About The Series | The American Collection | The Archive
Schedule & Season | Feature Library | eNewsletter | Book Club
Learning Resources | Forum | Search | Shop | Feedback

WGBH Logo PBS logo


Masterpiece is sponsored by: