Rollover Information
About the Series Schedule The Archive Learning Resources The American Collection Home Search Shop
Programs The Archive Database The Poster Gallery Awards + Nominations Broadcast Schedule Feature Library  Masterpiece Theatre Home The Archive Archive

The Archive Database [imagemap with 4 links]

previous program program next program

Program Title
The Peacock Spring

Based On
The novel by Rumer Godden

Adapted By
Ken Taylor

1 2

India, 1959. Sir Edward Gwithian is a senior diplomat posted in New Delhi. He suddenly summons his two daughters, Una and Hal, to join him from their boarding school in England. Hal--the youngest--is delighted, but Una--just 15--is puzzled by her father's impulsive decision. Their new home is Shiraz Road, Sir Edward's official residence. On arrival the girls meet their new governess Alix Lamont, who immediately sets about introducing them to the color and contridictions of Delhi society. However, all is not as idyllic as it may seem. Both Sir Edward and the beautiful Alix have secrets to hide. Increasingly ignored by her father--and with her own academic future jeapordized by Alix--Una seeks solace in the company of the handsome and enigmatic gardner Ravi. Andher growing friendship threatens to destroy the family forever...

Episodes: 1 2

previous program program next program

The Archive Database | Program History | Poster Gallery | Awards

Home | About The Series | The American Collection | The Archive
Schedule & Season | Feature Library | eNewsletter | Book Club
Learning Resources | Forum | Search | Shop | Feedback

WGBH Logo PBS logo


Masterpiece is sponsored by: