Rollover Information
About the Series Schedule The Archive Learning Resources The American Collection Home Search Shop
Programs The Archive Database The Poster Gallery Awards + Nominations Broadcast Schedule Feature Library  Masterpiece Theatre Home The Archive Archive

The Archive Database [imagemap with 4 links]

previous program program next program

Program Title
The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club

Based On
The novel by Dorothy L. Sayers

Adapted By
John Bowen

Number of Episodes:

In the Bellona Club on Armistice Day 1922, General Fentiman snoozes peacefully away in his armchair, buried beneath his newspaper. Only someone discovers he isn't snoozing--he's actually dead and has been so for some nine hours. What looks at first like a routine death turns into a murder mystery and a whole series of 'unpleasantnesses', all requiring the considerable talents of Lord Peter Wimsey to untangle.

Original broadcast date

Cast Characters
Ian Carmichael Lord Peter Wimsey
John Quentin George Fentiman
Anna Cropper Anna Dorland
Terence Alexander Robert Fentiman
Mark Eden Detective Inspector Parker
John Welsh Mr. Murbles
Phyllida Law Marjorie Phelps
Donald Pickering Dr. Penberthy
Arthur Hewlett Woodward
Clifford Rose Pritchard
Derek Newark Bunter
Vivien Heilbron
Carleton Hobbs
Brian Murphy
Jimmy Gardner
Jeffrey Wickham


Producer: Richard Beynon
Director: Ronald Wilson

previous program program next program

The Archive Database | Program History | Poster Gallery | Awards

Home | About The Series | The American Collection | The Archive
Schedule & Season | Feature Library | eNewsletter | Book Club
Learning Resources | Forum | Search | Shop | Feedback

WGBH Logo PBS logo


Masterpiece is sponsored by: