Rollover Information
About the Series Schedule The Archive Learning Resources The American Collection Home Search Shop
Programs The Archive Database The Poster Gallery Awards + Nominations Broadcast Schedule Feature Library  Masterpiece Theatre Home The Archive Archive

The Archive Database [imagemap with 4 links]

previous program program next program

Program Title
Wingless Bird

Based On
Novel by Catherine Cookson

Adapted By
Alan Seymour

1 2 3

"The WIngless Bird" follows the fortunes of three very different families, all linked by the strong-minded Agnes Conway. The story starts on Christmas Eve 1913, when a disenchanted Agnes is once again behind the counter of the family sweetshop. Feeling taken for granted by her family and uncertain about where her life is going, she can't help feeling envious of the happy young couple who come in to buy Christmas treats. That encounter marks the start of her involvement with the wealthy Farrier family as first Charles, and later Reg, fall in love with her. Meanwhile, she finds herself entangled with the notorious scrapping family, the Feltons, as she goes to the aid of her younger sister Jessie.

Episodes: 1 2 3

previous program program next program

The Archive Database | Program History | Poster Gallery | Awards

Home | About The Series | The American Collection | The Archive
Schedule & Season | Feature Library | eNewsletter | Book Club
Learning Resources | Forum | Search | Shop | Feedback

WGBH Logo PBS logo


Masterpiece is sponsored by: