The Old Curiosity Shop
Cast and Credits


Derek Jacobi
Daniel Quilp
Toby Jones
Nell Trent
Sophie Vavasseur
Sally Brass
Gina McKee
Samson Brass
Adam Godley
Betsy Quilp
Anna Madeley
Adrian Rawlins
Dick Swiveller
Geoff Breton
Freddie Trent
Bryan Dick
Mrs. Jarley
Zoë Wanamaker
George MacKay
Mrs. Jiniwin
Josie Lawrence
Mr. Liggers
Bradley Walsh
The Marchioness
Charlene McKenna
Rev. Pratchett
Jonathan Coy
Mrs. Nubbles
Kelly Campbell
Michael Webber
Mrs. George
Elizabeth Bennett
Gerry O'Brien

Production Credits

Screenplay by
Martyn Hesford
From the novel by
Charles Dickens
1st Assistant Director
Luke Johnston
2nd Assistant Director
Mary Gough
3rd Assistant Director
Keith Barry
Location Manager
Peter Conway
Transport Captain
Dan Breen, Sr.
Script Supervisor
Jeanette McGrath
Production Coordinator
Yvonne Burke
Assistant Coordinator
Grainne Dunne
Production Accountant
Rory MacDermott
Assistant Accountant
Fionnuala Dorney
Extras Coordinator
Laura Treacy
Stunt Coordinator
Donal O'Farrell
Art Director
Michael Higgins
Standby Art Director
Tamara Conboy
Production Buyer
Emer MacAvin
Props Master
Nuala McKernan
Construction Manager
Tom Dowling
Special Effects
Team FX
Dressing Props
Dave Flanagan
Eoin Lewis
Bernard Lyster
Ignacio Barbe
Mark Dowds
Pat Byrne
Gareth Byrne
Standby Props
Ronan Kennedy
Anthony Nugent
Camera Operator
Steve Murray
Focus Puller
Ivan Meagher
Clapper Loader
Anthony Meade
John Dunne
Garrett Baldwin
Stills Photographer
Colm Hogan
Boom Operator
Mark Barry
Assistant Film Editor
Martin Fanning
Wardrobe Supervisor
Sue Wain
Wardrobe Assistants
Patch Corcoran
Annie Cartwright
Makeup/Hair Assistants
Niamh O'Loan
Anna Gronerus
Post-Production Supervisor
Clare Kavanagh
Gary Curran
Sound Supervisor
Jon Stevenson
Dubbing Editors
Fionán Higgins
Sarah Gaines
Re-recording Mixer
John Fitzgerald
Head of Business
Aliboo Bradbury
Script Editor
Janine Bennett
Casting Director
Susie Parriss
Sound Recordist
Brendan Deasy
Makeup Designer
Morna Ferguson
Hair Designer
Eileen Buggy
Costume Designer
Lorna Marie Mugan
Music by
Stephen McKeon
Line Producer
Noëlette Buckley
Film Editor
Tony Cranstoun
Production Designer
Michael Pickwoad
Director of Photography
Peter Greenhalgh, BSC
With the participation of
Bord Scannán na hÉireann/Irish Film Board
Brian Percival
Produced by
Andrew Benson
Executive Producers
Gareth Neame
Rebecca Eaton
Andrew Lowe

© 2007 Carnival Film and Television Limited and Ingenious Broadcasting LLP

A Coproduction of Carnival, WGBH/Boston and Ingenious Broadcasting

Produced with the support of investment incentives for the Irish film industry provided by the Government of Ireland. Filmed on location in Ireland.


Senior Post Production Director
Erin Delaney
Business Manager
Deb Gibbs
Writer/Senior Editor
Kathleen Cahill
Production Assistant
Tsering Yangzom
Office Coordinator
Lisa Lokshin
Online Editor
Spencer Gentry
Visual Effects/Sound Design
Paul Sanni
Series Graphics
Prologue, Kyle Cooper
Series Theme
Man Made Music
Ellen Dockser
Olivia Wong
Senior Producer
Susanne Simpson
Senior Producer
Steven Ashley
Executive Producer
Rebecca Eaton

Public television viewers provide funding for Masterpiece.

Masterpiece has been presented on PBS by WGBH since 1971. The series is closed-captioned for deaf and hard-of-hearing viewers by The Caption Center at WGBH. A special narration track is added to the series by Descriptive Video Service® (DVS®), a service of WGBH to provide access to people who are blind or visually impaired.

Web Credits for The Old Curiosity Shop

Executive Editor
Steven Ashley
Senior Producer
Bruce Kohl
Senior Designer
Sonali Patel
Associate Designer
Dan Nolan
Web Production Designer
Jon Hayward
Senior Developer
Molly Frey
Senior Developer, Video Player
Ben Livermore
Associate Producer, Streaming / Project Manager
Marisa Nopakun
Unit Manager, WGBH Interactive
Amy Stahl
Thanks to
Jon Alper

WGBH is one of the nation's top public television and public radio broadcasters; a leading producer of high-quality content for TV, radio, the Internet, and other media; a pioneer in access services for people with disabilities; and the source of educational multimedia used by millions of teachers and students every year.

Support Provided By: