Rollover Information
About the Series Schedule The Archive Learning Resources The American Collection Home Search Shop
Mrs. Brown Links and Bibliography The Forum Cartoons from the Press Victoria's Highland Journals All the Queen's Men Who's Who Essays and Interviews Masterpiece Theatre Mrs. Brown
Victoria's Highland Journals [imagemap with 7 links]

Victoria's Highland Journals

Victoria's Highland Life
An Introduction to the Queen's Highland Journals



Leaves from the Journal of our Life in the Highlands (excerpts)

Volume One

The First Visit
Thursday, September 1, 1842
After a stormy passage north, young Victoria and Albert first set foot in Scotland

Wednesday, September 7, 1842
The coronation stone of the ancient Scots kings, then a great celebration at Taymouth Castle

Saturday, September 10, 1842
Echoes of Sir Walter Scott, rowing across Loch Tay


The Second Visit
Thursday, September 12, 1844
Blair Castle, Blair Athol
Victoria and Albert drive out alone

Tuesday, October 1 & Thursday, October 3, 1844
Departure... and return to England


At Balmoral
Friday, September 8, 1848
The first moments in Balmoral

September 16, 1850
With Albert and Brown to the Black Burn, and then moonrise

Monday, October 11, 1852
The new owners build a cairn at holiday's end.

October 29. 1854
They go to Kirk

September 29, 1855
On a Highland outing Vicky becomes engaged

September 18, 1858
A ride on John Brown's shoulder

Friday, October 7, 1859
An unforgettable day

Tuesday, September 4, 1860
Hotel Grantown
A "Great Expedition" with Grant and Brown

Wednesday, September 5, 1860
Back to Balmoral




Volume Two

At Balmoral
August 26, 1862
Victoria returns to the cairn after Albert's death.

Wednesday, October 7, 1863
A serious accident


On Tour
Wednesday, August 21, 1867
Arrival at Buccleuch

Thursday, August 22, 1867
The heart of Robert Bruce, the home of Sir Walter Scott


At Balmoral
Thursday, October 1, 1868
A housewarming for the widow's cottage


Images: Courtesy Hulton/Getty Collection.


Essays + Interviews | Who's Who | All the Queen's Men
Victoria's Highland Journals | Cartoons from the Press
The Forum | Links and Bibliography

Home | About The Series | The American Collection | The Archive
Schedule & Season | Feature Library | eNewsletter | Book Club
Learning Resources | Forum | Search | Shop | Feedback

WGBH Logo PBS logo

©


Masterpiece is sponsored by: