Rollover Information
About the Series Schedule The Archive Learning Resources The American Collection Home Search Shop
Goodbye, Mr. Chips
Essays + Interviews Who's Who/Cast + Credits Story Synopsis Novel to Film Russell Baker Links + Bibliography Teacher's Guide The Forum Masterpiece Theatre Goodbye, Mr. Chips
Who's Who/Cast + Credits [imagemap with 8 links]

Goodbye, Mr. Chips Cast and Credits

Cast | Production Credits | Web Credits


Mr. Chipping

Martin Clunes

Victoria Hamilton
Max Staefel

Conleth Hill

John Wood

Patrick Malahide

Christopher Fulford
Young Colley

James Casey
Young Rivers

Harry Lloyd

Tom Roberts

Rory Copus

James Malcolm

David Netherton
Young Sexton

Joe Sowerbutts

Hugh Sachs
Card playing ladies

Paula Jacobs
Irene Sutcliffe

Man with whiskers

Bryan Robson
Young Wallingford

Oliver Rokison
Young Rushton

Eddie Cooper
Dr. Merivale, Snr

Doyne Byrd
Alice Johnson

Florence Hoath
Colley Secondus

Nicolas Le Moignan
April Fools Boy

Peter Cant

Dominic Le Moignan
Highcroft OTC Officer

Jack Merriott
Soldier Colley

Henry Cavill
Sir John Rivers

John Harding
Young Callender

George Clarke
Chairman Sexton

Robin Lermitte

Tom Wansey

Tom Szekeres
Mrs. Sexton

Jaq Croft
Dr. Merivale

Richard Braine
Soldier Colley Snr

John Peaarson
Callender Snr

Andrew Collins
Rushton Snr

Graham Pountney

Production Credits

Executive ProducerJudy Counihan

ProducerMargaret Mitchell

DirectorStuart Orme

WritersBrian Finch
Frank Delaney

ScriptwriterHannah Weaver

Director of PhotographyMartin Fuhrer

EditorJamie McCoan

Music composed
and orchestrated by

Colin Towns
Production DesignerCaroline Amies

Costume DesignerLes Lansdown

Chief Make-Up Artist Anne Spiers

Casting DirectorGail Stevens and Maureen Duff

Location ManagerPeter Tullo

Stunt CoordinatorRod Woodruff

Special thanks to the Warden and Scholars of Winchester College
Film crews and actors involved in the making of this adaptation of the novel by James Hilton were at Winchester College in July of 2002 as part of the location filming.

Goodbye, Mr. Chips is an SMG Television Productions Limited production for ITV and Carlton International presented on PBS by WGBH Boston.

Masterpiece Theatre has been presented on PBS by WGBH for over thirty years. Rebecca Eaton is executive producer. Pulitzer Prize-winning writer Russell Baker is series host. The series is closed-captioned for deaf and hard-of-hearing viewers by the Media Access Group at WGBH. The descriptive narration is available on the SAP channel of stereo TVs and VCRs.

WGBH is America's preeminent public broadcasting producer. More than one-third of PBS's prime-time lineup and companion Web content as well as many public radio favorites are produced by WGBH. The station is also a pioneer in educational multimedia and in access technologies for people with disabilities. For more information visit WGBH/Boston Online.

Goodbye, Mr. Chips Web credits

Senior Producer
Louise Weber

Senior Designer
Tyler Howe

Sarah Lowe

Senior Developer
Molly Frey

Caitlin O'Neil

Marisa Nopakun, research assistant

The WGBH Educational Foundation is the single largest producer of Web sites on PBS Online. WGBH Interactive creates Web sites, CD-ROMs and other multimedia projects that enhance the Foundation's broadcast and non-broadcast programs.

Essays + Interviews | Who's Who/Cast + Credits
Story Synopsis | Novel to Film | Russell Baker
Links + Bibliography | Teacher's Guide | The Forum

Home | About The Series | The American Collection | The Archive
Schedule & Season | Feature Library | eNewsletter | Book Club
Learning Resources | Forum | Search | Shop | Feedback

WGBH Logo PBS logo


Masterpiece is sponsored by: