Place of Execution
Cast and Credits


Desk Sergeant
Guy Manning
Catherine Heathcote
Juliet Stevenson
Sasha Heathcote
Elizabeth Day
Alison Carter
Poppy Goodburn
Julia St. John
P.C. Swindells
Danny Tennant
D.I. George Bennett
Lee Ingleby
Old George Bennett
Philip Jackson
Ruth Hawkin
Emma Cunniffe
D.S. Tommy Clough
Tony Maudsley
Old Tommy Clough
Dave Hill
Old George Bennett
Philip Jackson
Keith Slocombe
Danny Sapani
Ma Lomas
Sheila Reid
Charlie Lomas
Mikey North
Old Charlie Lomas
Gareth Williams
Philip Hawkin
Greg Wise
Sergeant Miller
Colin MacLachlan
Kathy Lomas
Joy Blakeman
Dan Crowther
Chris Brailsford
D.C.I. Culver
Philip Whitchurch
Nicola Curry
Zoe Telford
Don Smart
Paul Wyett
Simon Crowther
Ryan Anthony-Jones
Liz Moscrop
Margaret Bennett
Romy Baskerville
Alfred Naden
Simon Chandler
Young Catherine
Miranda Williams
Superintendent Martin
Nicholas Pritchard
Jonathan Pritchard
Andrew Woodall
Rupert Highsmith Q.C.
Tom Chadbon
Judge Sampson
Peter Cartwright
Jury Foreman
Simon Hedger
Dr. Panaseer
Leena Dhingra

Production Credits

Screenplay by
Patrick Harbinson
Based on the Book by
Val McDermid
Stunt Coordinator
Tom Lucy
Stunt Performer
Crispin Layfield
1st Assistant Directors
Mary Soan
Lee Trevor
2nd Assistant Director
Ben Sweet
3rd Assistant Director
Daymon Britton
Location Manager
Gareth Williams
Unit Manager
Rowan Clarke
Script Supervisor
Angelica Pressello
Production Coordinators
Mike Noble
Stephen Walker
Production Secretary
Oliver Cockerham
Production Accountant
Rachel Donkor
Assistant Accountant
David Bowen
Art Director
Niall Moroney
Production Buyer
Marshall Aver
Standby Art Director
Caroline Barclay
Props Master
Colin Bradbury
Steadicam Operator
Vince McGahon
Focus Puller
Kim Sebers
Clapper/ Loader
Chris Williams
Craig Atkinson
Andrew Taylor
Best Boy
Bob Milton
Sound Recordist
Reg Mills
Gareth Williams
Trevor Chaisty
Sound Maintenance Engineer
Stuart Wright
Post Production Coordinator
Rosemarie Dowson
Assistant Editor
David Fisher
Dubbing Editor
Dave Aston
Costume Designer
Ray Holman
Costume Assistants
Sara Morgan
Jason Marshall
Costume Supervisor
Charlotte Mitchell
Makeup Designer
Sallie Adams
Makeup Artists
Laura Schalker
Michael Birtley
Kerry McLaren
Graphic Designer
Judy Lysaght
Casting Director
Joan McGann, C.D.G.
Casting Assistant
Lisa Harris
Telecine Colorist
Glenn Kyte
Dubbing Mixer
Patrick Morris
Production Associate
Ken Jobling
Script Executive
Claire Hirsch
Associate Producer
Will Nicholson
The Insects
Film Editor
David Thrasher
Production Designer
Claire Kenny
Director of Photography
Steve Lawes

A Coastal Production in association with Ingenious Broadcasting 2LLP Southern Star

© A Coastal Production Ltd 2008


Senior Post Production Director
Erin Delaney
Assistant Director
Judy Cronenberg
Business Manager
Deb Gibbs
Writer/Senior Editor
Kathleen Cahill
Production Assistant
Tsering Yangzom
Office Coordinator
Lisa Lokshin
Online Editor
Spencer Gentry
Visual Effects/Sound Design
Paul Sanni
Series Graphics
Prologue, Kyle Cooper
Series Theme
Man Made Music
Ellen Dockser
Olivia Wong
Senior Producer
Susanne Simpson
Senior Producer
Steven Ashley
Executive Producer
Rebecca Eaton

Public television viewers provide funding for Masterpiece.

Masterpiece has been presented on PBS by WGBH since 1971. The series is closed-captioned for deaf and hard-of-hearing viewers by The Caption Center at WGBH. A special narration track is added to the series by Descriptive Video Service® (DVS®), a service of WGBH to provide access to people who are blind or visually impaired.

Web Credits for Place of Execution

Executive Editor
Steven Ashley
Senior Producer
Bruce Kohl
Senior Designer
Sonali Patel
Director of Design, Interactive
Toby Bottorf
Interactive Designer
Dan Nolan
Web Production Designer
Jon Hayward
Senior Developer
Molly Frey
Senior Developer, Video Player
Ben Livermore
Project Manager
Marisa Nopakun
Producer, Streaming Video
Anna Fort
Unit Manager, WGBH Interactive
Amy Stahl

WGBH is one of the nation's top public television and public radio broadcasters; a leading producer of high-quality content for TV, radio, the Internet, and other media; a pioneer in access services for people with disabilities; and the source of educational multimedia used by millions of teachers and students every year.

Support Provided By: