Rollover Information
About the Series Schedule The Archive Learning Resources The American Collection Home Search Shop
My Uncle Silas

The Author, H.E. Bates
Story Synopsis
Russell Baker on My Uncle Silas
Cast + Credits

My Uncle Silas II      TV PG
Airing Sunday, March 28, 2004, on PBS
(Check local listings; dates and times may vary)

Aired previously January 2003

The first series of Silas stories, My Uncle Silas, aired in November of 2001.

Five-time Oscar® nominee Albert Finney returns as rascally Uncle Silas, a wily old country rogue, in a new series of sketches set in the English countryside in the early 1900s.

The presentation features five short stories which find Uncle Silas enlivening his summer with a spot of matchmaking, posing for the sculptor Lady Hermoine and infuriating Sam, the local village policeman, among other adventures.

Sue Johnston (Brassed Off) reprises her role as Silas's sharp-tongued housekeeper, the irascible Mrs. Betts; Joe Prospero again appears as Silas's adoring nephew Edward.

This gentle period drama is based on stories by the creator of The Darling Buds of May, H.E. Bates (1905-1974). His work has appeared before on Masterpiece Theatre, notably in the jazz-age romance Love for Lydia, set in the author's salad days as a young reporter. In My Uncle Silas, published in 1939, Bates harks back to his boyhood in Northamptonshire and the extravagant stories of a favorite great uncle.

The Author, H.E. Bates | Story Synopsis | Russell Baker
Cast + Credits | The Forum

Home | About The Series | The American Collection | The Archive
Schedule & Season | Feature Library | eNewsletter | Book Club
Learning Resources | Forum | Search | Shop | Feedback

WGBH Logo PBS logo



The author, H.E. Bates

Story Synopsis

Russell Baker on My Uncle Silas

Cast + credits

The Forum

Masterpiece is sponsored by: