Small Island
Cast & Credits


Naomie Harris
Hugh Quarshie
Taxi Driver
Terence Frisch
Ruth Wilson
David Oyelowo
Mr. Todd
Roger Sloman
Ashley Walters
Mr. Philip Roberts
Glen Campbell
Miss Jewel
Leonie Forbes
Mrs. Ryder
Rachel Pickup
Mr. Ryder
Andrew Havill
Teddy Price
Pastor's Wife
Avenia Powell
Shaun Parkes
Aunt Dorothy
Denise Black
Benedict Cumberbatch
Queenie's Mother
Mary Jo Randle
Everaldo Creary
Karl Johnson
Nikki Amuka-Bird
Miss Morgan
Kerstin Pringle
Celia's Mother
Dorothy Cunningham
Michael Elwyn
Delroy Atkinson
Alan Ricketts
Sergeant Baxter
Damien Devaney
Laurence Spellman
Mark David
Eoin Macken
GI Ellis
Peter Brooke
Caoimhe McErlean
Cinema Woman
Barbara Adair
Cinema GI
Bentley Kalu
Military Police
Tony Flynn
Billy Carter
PO Worker 1
Jonathan Harden
PO Worker 2
Neil McWilliams
Woman with Sweet
Gillian Raine
Young Lad
Andrew McMahon
Young Lad
Joseph Hearns
Mrs. Harper
Laura Hughes
Kerri McLean
Cara Shearer
Lee Simmonds

Production Credits

Based on the novel by
Andrea Levy
Screenplay by
Paula Milne
Sarah Williams
1st Assistant Director
Nige Watson
2nd Assistant Director
Chris Croucher
3rd Assistant Director
Sam Ross
Floor Runners
Richard Wilson
Sean Roe Curren
Trainee Ad
Sean Virtue
Location Manager
Andrew Wilson
Assistant Location Manager
Robbie Boake
Unit Manager
Damien Glenholmes
Dublin Location
Donnacha Brady
Production Coordinator
Julie Gardener
Production Secretary
Sarah McAffrey
Production Runner
Paul McAnearney
Production Trainee
Andrea Bamford
Voice Coaches
Carmen Harris
Penny Dyer
Script Editor
Mona Qureshi
Production Accountant
Vincent O'Toole
Assistant Accountant
Emer Egan
Focus Pullers
Ashley Bond
Sam Barnes
Clapper Loaders
Andy Gardner
Alice Hobden
Camera Assistants
Daire Mac An Tsaoir
Grace Sweeney
Glynn Harrison
Script Supervisor
Lynda Marshall
Boom Operator
Simon Kerr
2nd Boom Operator
Danny Crowley
Sound Trainee
Terry McDonald
Steve Blake
Best Boy
Carlo McDonnell
Seamus Linch
Davey Mayes
Genny Operator
Brett McCrum
Stills Photography
Steffan Hill
Art Director
Mark Lowry
Production Buyer
Shane Bunting
Standby Art Director
Lizzie Kilham
Assistant Production Buyer
Sarah Speers
Graphics Designer
Gillian Devenney
Art Department Assistant
Sian Alaw Jones
Action Vehicles
Gavin McGlashin
Mark Oliver
Robert Gyle
SFX Supervisor
Tony Auger
Prop Master
Paul Stewart
Dressing Props
Jim Barr
Michael Cullen
Standby Props
Chris Moore
Jo Paul
Props Trainees
Neil McNally
Sam Jones
Action Vehicles
Alan Crozier
Construction Manager
Cole Doherty
Chargehand Carpenter
Jim Reid
Hugo Wilkinson
Scenic Painters
Kevin Fraser
Greer Whitewick
Marc Morley Smith
Standby Riggers
Sean McKeown
Darren Lyttle
Stunt Coordinator
Joe Condren
Stunt Performers
Mens Tamakio
Brenden Condren
John Sheridan
Marvin Campbell
Paul Thompson
Gee Nagys
Norman Kelly
Costume Supervisor
Sarah Touaibi
Costume Standby
Donna Hughes
Costume Assistant
Cathy Young
Kerry Gooding
Makeup Supervisor
Juliette Vankay
Makeup Artist
Veronica Lewis
Debbie Hanney
Unit Drivers
Simon Butcher
Maurice Brown
Geoff Brown
Johnny Crawford
Dermott McKee
Production Services
Cinecom Productions LTD
Production Manager
Natalie Thompson
Production Coordinator
Kenisha Gooden
Production Assistant
Maxine Pessoa
Casting Director
Cecile Burrowes
Assistant Production Accountant
Steve Armstrong
Art Director
Sue Henzell
Set Decorator
Donna Noble
2nd Assistant AD
Philippa Burnett
3rd Assistant ADs
Oniel Burke
Simon Packer
Lawrence Max Woodham
Camera Assistant
Delroy Johnson
Cleveland McKenzie
Construction Manager
Paul Daye
Best Boy
Earl Brown
Ralston Williams
Alwyn Fletcher
Neville Smith
Genny Operator
Antonio O'Conner
Location Assistant
Paul Bowen
Costume Assistant
Michelle Hayes
Alix Khouri
Cyprian Thomas
Visual Effects
Space Digital
Assistant Editor
Christian Blood
Dialogue Editor
Filipa Principe
Effects Editor
Aaron Mahoney
Dubbing Mixer
Billy Mahoney
Gareth Spensley
Online Editor
Nick Anderson
Post Production Supervisor
Moira Brophy
Post Production Secretary
Ilana Epstein
Post Production Trainee
Lyeanne Beckford Jones
Production Consultant
Dan Leon
Peter Anderson
Coordinator Ruby TV
Lynsey Miller
Finance Controller Ruby TV
Christina Jules
Development Coordinator Ruby TV
Andy Brunskill
Casting Directors
Nina Gold
Robert Sterne
Co Producer
Abi Bach
Sound Recordist
Ronan Hill
Makeup and Hair Designer
Marella Shearer
Costume Designer
Lorna Marie-Mugan
Music Composed by
Martin Phipps
Roy Sharman
Production Designer
Will Hughes Jones
Director of Photography
Tony Miller
Head of Production
Faye Ward
Joanna Anderson
Vicky Licorish
Grainne Marmion
John Alexander
Executive Producers
Alison Owen
Paula Milne
Paul Trijbits
Executive Producer WGBH
Rebecca Eaton
Executive Producer BBC
Lucy Richer

A Ruby Television Production in Association with AL Films. Co-produced with WGBH Boston.

Made on location in Northern Ireland with the assistance of Northern Ireland Screen

Ruby Television for BBC

© Television Ruby (Small Island) Limited 2009


Senior Post Production Director
Erin Delaney
Assistant Director
Judy Cronenberg
Business Manager
Deb Gibbs
Writer/Senior Editor
Kathleen Cahill
Production Assistant
Tsering Yangzom
Office Coordinator
Lisa Lokshin
Online Editor
Spencer Gentry
Visual Effects/Sound Design
Paul Sanni
Series Graphics
Prologue, Kyle Cooper
Series Theme
Man Made Music
Ellen Dockser
Olivia Wong
Senior Producer
Susanne Simpson
Senior Producer
Steven Ashley
Executive Producer
Rebecca Eaton

Public television viewers provide funding for Masterpiece. Thank you.

Masterpiece has been presented on PBS by WGBH since 1971. The series is closed-captioned for deaf and hard-of-hearing viewers by The Caption Center at WGBH. A special narration track is added to the series by Descriptive Video Service® (DVS®), a service of WGBH to provide access to people who are blind or visually impaired.

Web Credits for Small Island

Executive Editor
Steven Ashley
Senior Producer
Bruce Kohl
Senior Designer
Sonali Patel
Director of Design, Interactive
Toby Bottorf
Mayo Todorovic
Web Production Designer
Jon Hayward
Senior Developer
Molly Frey
Senior Developer, Video Player
Ben Livermore
Project Manager
Marisa Nopakun
Producers, Streaming Video
Anna Fort
Marisa Nopakun
Long Synopsis Writer
Richard Maurer
Andrea Levy Interview
Richard Maurer
Unit Manager, WGBH Interactive
Amy Stahl

WGBH is one of the nation's top public television and public radio broadcasters; a leading producer of high-quality content for TV, radio, the Internet, and other media; a pioneer in access services for people with disabilities; and the source of educational multimedia used by millions of teachers and students every year.

Support Provided By: