Wallander: Series II: The Man Who Smiled
Cast and Credits


Gustaf Torstensson
Roland Hedlund
Sten Torstensson
David Sibley
Kurt Wallander
Kenneth Branagh
Sally Hurst
Lisa Holgersson
Sadie Shimmin
Berta Duner
Angela Thorne
Magnus Martinsson
Tom Hiddleston
Anne-Britt Hoglund
Sarah Smart
Richard McCabe
Anders Ekman
Vincent Regan
Kimmo Rajala
Alfred Harderberg
Rupert Graves
Betty Laurensson
Sandra Voe
Hans Laurensson
John Rogan
Povel Wallander
David Warner
Linda Wallander
Jeany Spark
Elin Nordfeldt
Emma Griffiths Malin
Jurgen Nordfeldt
Benedict Taylor

Production Credits

Based on the Novel The Man Who Smiled by

Henning Mankell
Screenplay by
Simon Donald
Richard Cottan
Stunt Coordinator and Stunts

Kimmo Rajala
Deni Jordan
Production Executive
Zoe Edwards
Script Editor
Paula Cuddy
Production Manager
Martin Ersgård
Location Manager
Thomas Nilsson
Production Accountants
Della Moore
Julian Murray
Script Supervisor
Carol Saunderson
2nd Assistant Director
Chris Croucher
3rd Assistant Director
Tamara King
Production Coordinators
Chris Lahr
Louise Raihle Lagnecranz
UK Production Coordinator
Claire Davis
Production Secretary
Evelyn Lindgren
Unit Manager
Ronald Meier
Camera Operators
Stuart Howell
Ludovic Littee
Peter Myslowski
Focus Pullers
Joe Maples
Nathan Mann
Clapper Loaders
Mikkel Find
Björn Tobiasson
Art Directors
Anne Mette Bo Drivsholm
Anders Olin
Assistant Art Director
Daniel Taylor
Nanna Friborg
Property Masters
Fredric Grecke
Jesper Höglund
Props Buyer
Louise Drake
Liv Ulfsdottir
Jessica Tarland
Ulf Bruxe
Christine Bechameil
Special Effects
Hummer Højmark
Anders Lexne
Anna Kot
Bella Ekman
Hege Hådell
Makeup Artists
Camilla Norberg Hansen
Kay Bilk
Best Boy
Kalle Pentillä
Stefan Jonsson
Ralf Tjernlund
Casting Director Sweden
Mikael Hansson
Sacha Green
Ian Johnson
Post Production Supervisor
Beewan Athwal
Aidan Farrell
Online Editor
John Kerron
Assistant Editors
Gwillym Hewetson
Rab Wilson
Title Music
Emily Barker & Martin Phipps
Dubbing Mixer
Stuard Hilliker
Dubbing Editors
Virginia Thorn
Lee Walpole
Boom Operator
Klas Engström
Co-Producer for Film i Skåne

Ralf Ivarsson
Line Producer
Charlotte Bloxham
1st Assistant Director
Jack Ravenscroft
Casting Director
Doreen Jones
Production Designer
Jacqueline Abrahams
Costume Design
Barbara Kidd
Makeup Design
Christine Walmesley-Cotham
Lighting Gaffer
Christoph Schobert
Sound Recordist
Jonas Rudels
Sue Wyatt
Music by
Ruth Barrett
Director of Photography
Igor Martinovic
Head of Production
Marigo Kehoe
Sanne Wohlenberg
Andy Wilson
Executive Producer
Francis Hopkinson
Executive Producer
Daniel Ahlqvist
Executive Producers
Andy Harries
Kenneth Branagh
Richard Cottan
Executive Producers
Ole Søndeberg
Anni Faurbye Fernandez
Executive Producers
Rebecca Eaton
Hans-Wolfgang Jurgan
Matthew Read
Asa Sjöberg

A Left Bank Picture, Yellow Bird, TKBC series co-produced with BBC, Degeto, WGBH, FiSK, TV4

Made with support from Region of Skåne, City of Ystad and Ystad_Osterlen Film Fond, Sweden

© Yellow Bird Rights AB and Left Bank Pictures (Television) Limited MMX. All rights reserved.


Hosted by
Alan Cumming
Senior Post Production Director

Erin Delaney
Business Manager
Deb Gibbs
Writer/Senior Editor
Kathleen Cahill
Production Assistant
Tsering Yangzom
Office Coordinator
Lisa Lokshin
Online Editor
Spencer Gentry
Visual Effects/Sound Design

Paul Sanni
Series Graphics
Prologue, Kyle Cooper
Series Theme
Man Made Music
Ellen Dockser
Olivia Wong
Julianne Smith
Senior Producer
Susanne Simpson
Senior Producer
Steven Ashley
Executive Producer
Rebecca Eaton

Public television viewers provide funding for Masterpiece. Thank you.

Masterpiece has been presented on PBS by WGBH since 1971. The series is closed-captioned for deaf and hard-of-hearing viewers by The Caption Center at WGBH. A special narration track is added to the series by Descriptive Video Service® (DVS®), a service of WGBH to provide access to people who are blind or visually impaired.

Web Credits for Wallander: Series II, The Man Who Smiled

Executive Editor
Steven Ashley
Senior Producer
Bruce Kohl
Senior Designer
Sonali Patel
Director of Design, Interactive

Toby Bottorf
Dan Nolan
Assistant Production Designer

Cassandra Sell
Senior Developer
Molly Frey
Project Manager
Marisa Nopakun
Producer, Streaming Video
Anna Fort
Synopsis Writer
Richard Maurer
Unit Manager, WGBH Interactive

Amy Stahl

WGBH is one of the nation's top public television and public radio broadcasters; a leading producer of high-quality content for TV, radio, the Internet, and other media; a pioneer in access services for people with disabilities; and the source of educational multimedia used by millions of teachers and students every year.

Support Provided By: