Visit Your Local PBS Station PBS Home PBS Home Programs A-Z TV Schedules Watch Video Donate Shop PBS Search PBS
An American MYSTERY! Special
Skinwalkers Coyote Waits A Thief of Time Navajoland Discussion
Cast and CrewNovel to FilmStory SynopsisHillerman Challenge
Cast and Crew

 The people who made A Thief of Time
Principal Cast

Jim Chee Adam Beach
Joe Leaphorn Wes Studi
Emma Leaphorn Sheila Tousey
Janet Pete Alex Rice
Captain Largo Gary Farmer
Slick Nakai Graham Greene
Harrison Houk Peter Fonda
Irene Musket Tantoo Cardinal
Maxie Davis Dawn Lewis
Clem Alison Ernest Tsosie II
Amos Whistler Joseph Runningfox
P.J. Pedwell William Brennan
Brigham Houk Daryl Hury
Dr. Eleanor Friedman-Bernal Rosalia De Aragon
Delbert Nez Kelly Byars
Larry Notowa Garcia
Mildred Luna Beth Grant
Pete Eticitty Kenneth White Eagle Wings
Randolph Elliot Lee Tergesen
Marcia Susan Conklin
Richard Dumont James "JR" Pollard
Joey Nails Randy Slaughter
Patrol Officer Kevin Wiggins
Waiter Farrell W. Thomas
Butler David House

Production Credits

Executive Producers Rebecca Eaton
Robert Redford
Producer Craig McNeil
Consulting Producer Michael Nozik
Director Chris Eyre
Writer Alice Arlen
Director of Photography Roy Wagner
Production Designer Richard Toyon
Casting Director René Haynes, C.S.A.
Composer BC Smith
Editor Freeman Davies, Jr.
Consultant Tony Hillerman
Stunt Coordinator/Leaphorn/   
   Chee Stunt Double
 Lou Simon
Casting Rene Haynes
First Assistant Director Chad Rosen
Unit Production Manager Patty Long
Production Supervisor Diana Lui
Sound Jason George
David Brownlow
Key Hair Stylist Claudia Breckenridge
Makeup Department Head Leah Rial
Assistant Property Master Ryan Blank
Lead Man Mark Alan Duran
Lead Scenic Artist Christian Klump
Set Dresser Cee Moravec
Sound Effects Editor Bob Costanza
Supervising Music Editor Mike Flicker
Supervising Sound Editor Mark Friedgen
Foley Mixer Tommy Goodwin
Special Effects Coordinator Ken Speed
Production Assistant Peter Darchuk
Production Coordinator Sharon C. Dietz
Best Boy Grip Harland Espeset
Casting Associate Jeff Ham
Still Photographer Neil Jacobs
Electrician Steven Litecky
Post-Production Supervisors Robin Maybin-Hens
Steve Turner
Additional Editor Cindy Mollo
Assistant Editor Greg Podunovich
Production Assistant Robbie Mueller
Assistant Camera Gabriel Pfeiffer
Music Copyist Larry Seymour
Location Manager Alan Swain
Costume Supervisor Mary Law Weir

Special Thanks to the Canoncito Band Of Navajos, Zia Pueblo, Jemez Pueblo, Village Of Corrales, University Of New Mexico, City Of Albuquerque, and KRQE News 13 Albuquerque.

A Thief of Time is a co-production of Granada Entertainment and Wildwood Productions, in association with WGBH Boston. Funding for A Thief of Time was provided by Carlton International, PBS, the Corporation for Public Broadcasting, and viewers like you.

MYSTERY! is closed captioned for deaf and hard-of-hearing viewers by The Caption Center at WGBH Boston. Narrated descriptions of MYSTERY! programs are provided by Descriptive Video Service(r) (DVS(r)), a national service of WGBH. For more information visit

A Thief of Time, an American MYSTERY! Special, is presented on PBS by WGBH Boston, where Rebecca Eaton is executive producer and Diana Rigg is host.

WGBH Boston is America's preeminent public broadcasting producer. One-third of PBS's primetime lineup and companion Web content as well as many public radio favorites are produced by WGBH. The station also is a pioneer in educational multimedia and in access technologies for people with disabilities. For more information visit

In this section: Cast and Crew | Novel to Film | Story Synopsis | Hillerman Challenge

American Mystery! Home | Skinwalkers | Coyote Waits | A Thief of Time | Navajoland | Discussion
Buy the Videos | Check Local Listings | Site Map
MYSTERY! Home | © 2004 WGBH | Privacy