Visit Your Local PBS Station PBS Home PBS Home Programs A-Z TV Schedules Watch Video Donate Shop PBS Search PBS


Murder Rooms: The Dark Beginnings of Sherlock Holmes

Murder Rooms: The Dark Beginnings of Sherlock Holmes

Principal Cast

Arthur Conan Doyle: Robin Laing
Dr. Joseph Bell: Ian Richardson
Elspeth: Dolly Wells
Beecher: Sean McGinley
Neill: Alec Newman
Eustace Stark: Andrew John Tate
Sir Henry Carlyle: Charles Dance
Lady Sarah: Ruth Platt
Summers: Laurie Ventry
Mary Conan Doyle: Sarah Collier
Crawford: Joel Strachan
Dr. Gillespie: Stephen MacDonald
Waller: Matthew MacFadyen
Crawford Senior: Bernard Horsfall
Sophia: Tamsin Pike
Charles Doyle: John Bett

Production Credits

Executive producer/BBC: David Thompson
Executive producer/WGBH: Rebecca Eaton
Producer: Ian Madden
Director of photography: John Kenway
Production designer: Tom McCullagh
Composer: Jim Parker
Editor: Mark Day
Director: Paul Seed
Screenplay: David Pirie

Murder Rooms: The Dark Beginnings of Sherlock Holmes is a coproduction of the BBC and WGBH Boston. Ian Madden is producer; Paul Seed is director. The screenplay is written by David Pirie. Executive producers are David Thompson for the BBC and Rebecca Eaton for WGBH.

Murder Rooms is presented on MYSTERY! by WGBH Boston, where Rebecca Eaton is executive producer.

Funding for MYSTERY! is provided by public television viewers. MYSTERY! is close captioned for deaf and hard-of-hearing viewers by The Caption Center at WGBH Boston. Narrated descriptions of MYSTERY! programs are provided by Descriptive Video Service® (DVS®), a national service of WGBH.

Introduction | More | Episode Descriptions | Cast and Production Credits

Home | TV Schedule | About the Series | Past Programs
Discussions | Detectives | Games | Tour the Set | Case Book | Credits | Mystery! Shop
WGBH | PBS Online | Feedback

Trouble reading this page? Click here.