back to Stories in the Timber
The first and second page of the Belle's official construction record, dated December 15, 1684. Being illiterate, the Belle's master shipwright, Honoré Mallet, simply signed his initials, "h.M.," seen in the lower middle of this contemporaneous document. His son Pierre's signature is at right.
Photos: courtesy of John de Bry, Center for Historical Archeology.
Stories in the Timber | Explore the Shipwreck | Who Owns Lost Ships?
Buoyancy Brainteasers | Teacher's Guide | Resources | Transcript | Site Map
Voyage of Doom Home
Editor's Picks | Previous Sites | Join Us/E-mail | TV/Web Schedule
About NOVA | Teachers | Site Map | Shop | Jobs | Search | To print
PBS Online | NOVA Online | WGBH
© | Updated November 2000