NOVA scienceNOWNOVA scienceNOWNOVA scienceNOWComing up

June 25, 2008: Credits

Web Site Credits

Lauren Aguirre, Executive Editor
Rima Chaddha, Assistant Editor
Amanda Clarke, Illustrator
Darcy Forlenza, Editorial Assistant
Brenden Kootsey, Senior Web Developer
David Levin, Assistant Editor
Susan K. Lewis, Editor
Melissa Salpietra, Editorial Assistant
Peter Tyson, Editor in Chief
Anya Vinokour, Senior Designer
Li Wei, Designer

Photo and Image Credits

Dark Matter

Dark Matter hub page
Image: (dark matter animation) © WGBH Educational Foundation

The Dark Matter Mystery
Images: (all) © WGBH Educational Foundation

Picturing Atoms
Image composite: (Neil deGrasse Tyson) Photos by Chris Cassidy © WGBH Educational Foundation; (atom on green background) ©, Bek Shakirov; (atom on red background) © Digital Art/Corbis

Video Extra
Image: (atom) © WGBH Educational Foundation

Cosmic Perspective
Image: (Neil deGrasse Tyson) © WGBH Educational Foundation

Of Mice and Memory

Of Mice and Memory hub page
Image: (mice and test tubes) © dra_schwartz/

A Human Habitat
Images: (illustrations) by Amanda Clarke © WGBH Educational Foundation

Video Extra
Image: (mouse animation) © WGBH Educational Foundation

Profile: Hany Farid

Profile: Hany Farid hub page
Image: (Hany Farid) Courtesy Joe Mehling

Fake or Real?
Images: (all) © WGBH Educational Foundation

Video Extra
Image: (compilation of images) © WGBH Educational Foundation

Wisdom of the Crowds

Wisdom of the Crowds hub page
Image: (math illustration) © WGBH Educational Foundation

Counting Cabs
Image: (taxi) © Eliza Snow/

One-Minute Experiment
Image: (stopwatch) © Steve Dibblee/

Video Extra
Image: (ship animation) © WGBH Educational Foundation

Ask the Expert

Images: (Richard Massey) Courtesy Richard Massey; (Li-Huei Tsai) Courtesy Betsy Cullen Photography; (Hany Farid) Courtesy Joe Mehling; (Edward George) Courtesy The Wharton School

Program Participants

Images: (all) © NOVA/WGBH Educational Foundation

Production Credits

Dark Matter

Edited by
Doug Quade

Written, Produced and Directed by
Julia Cort

Of Mice and Memory

Edited by
Nathan Hendrie

Produced and Directed by
Elizabeth Arledge

Profile: Hany Farid

Edited by
Cherry Enoki

Produced by
Joshua Seftel and Ann Kim

Directed by
Joshua Seftel

Wisdom of the Crowds

Produced and Edited by
Vincent Liota

NOVA scienceNOW

Executive Producer
Samuel Fine

Executive Editor
Neil deGrasse Tyson

Senior Series Producer
Vincent Liota

Supervising Producers
Stephen Sweigart
Joey David

Editorial Producer
Julia Cort

Development Producer
Vinita Mehta

Senior Editor
David Chmura

Production Assistant
Fran Laks

Brian Edgerton
Yunsik Noh

Rob Morsberger

Associate Producers
Fran Laks
Molly Longstreth
Anthony Manupelli
Win Rosenfeld
Alison Snyder

Assistant Editor
Susan Perla

Jim Ball
James Callanan
Austin deBesche
Brian Dowley
Vincent Liota
Steve McCarthy

Sound Recordists
Bernie Beaudry
Lauretta Molitor
Roger Phenix
George Shafnacker
Tom Williams

Sound Mix
David Chmura

Sputnik Animation
James LaPlante
Brian Edgerton
Anthony Kraus
Yunsik Noh
"The Forgetting," Twin Cities Public Television

Production Manager For Crowd Segment
Candace White

Segment Production Assistants
Mona Damluji
Grisha Enikolopov

NOVA scienceNOW series animation

Three dimensional brain animation
Courtesy Dr. Arthur W. Toga, Laboratory of Neuro Imaging at UCLA

Archival Material
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Library of Congress

Special Thanks
Briarwood Healthcare and Rehabilitation Center, Needham, MA
Douglas Clowe
Bamidele Faboyede
Prasad Jayanti
Kimo Johnson
Eric Kee
Sue Moen
Soudan Underground Mine - A Minnesota State Park
Twin Cities Public Television
Jeff Woodward

Neil deGrasse Tyson is director of the Hayden Planetarium in the Rose Center for Earth and Space at the American Museum of Natural History.

NOVA Series Graphics
yU + co.

NOVA Theme Music
Walter Werzowa
John Luker
Musikvergnuegen, Inc.

Additional NOVA Theme Music
Ray Loring
Rob Morsberger

Post Production Online Editor
Spencer Gentry

Closed Captioning
The Caption Center

NOVA Administrator
Ashley King

Carole McFall
Eileen Campion
Lindsay de la Rigaudiere
Victoria Louie
Kate Becker

Senior researcher
Gaia Remerowski

Production Coordinator
Linda Callahan

Raphael Nemes

Talent Relations
Scott Kardel, Esq.
Janice Flood

Legal Counsel
Susan Rosen

Post Production Assistant
Darcy Forlenza

Associate Producer, Post Production
Patrick Carey

Post Production Supervisor
Regina O'Toole

Post Production Editors
Rebecca Nieto
Alex Kreuter

Post Production Manager
Nathan Gunner

Compliance Manager
Linzy Emery

Supervising Producer
Stephen Sweigart

Business Manager
Joseph P. Tracy

Producers, Special Projects
Lisa Mirowitz
David Condon

Coordinating Producer
Laurie Cahalane

Senior Science Editor
Evan Hadingham

Senior Series Producer
Melanie Wallace

Managing Director
Alan Ritsko

Senior Executive Producer
Paula S. Apsell

This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. 0638931. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.

NOVA scienceNOW is a trademark of the WGBH Educational Foundation

NOVA scienceNOW is produced for WGBH/Boston by NOVA

© 2008 WGBH Educational Foundation

All rights reserved

Support provided by

For new content
visit the redesigned
NOVA site