NOVA Online
NOVA menu (see bottom of page for text links)

Treasures menu (see bottom of page for text links)

Great Pyramid of Giza The Great Pyramid of Giza

The Great Pyramid of Giza, also known as the Pyramid of Khufu (or Cheops), in Egypt is the only one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World still standing. It is also the oldest. The Great Pyramid is the royal tomb of the Egyptian Pharaoh Khufu who lived about 2560 B.C. It originally stood more than 480 feet and is estimated to be made up of 2.3 million blocks, some weighing up to 9 tons a piece!


Mapping the Treasures | Empereur | Unforgettable Moments
Seven Wonders | Resources | Guide | Transcript | Treasures Home

Editor's Picks | Previous Sites | Join Us/E-mail | TV/Web Schedule
About NOVA | Teachers | Site Map | Shop | Jobs | Search | To print
PBS Online | NOVA Online | WGBH

© | Updated November 2000

Support provided by

For new content
visit the redesigned
NOVA site

Seven Wonders: Get Clued In Unforgettable Moments Jean Yves Empereur: The Riches of Alexandria Mapping the Treasures Treasures of the Sunken City Home NOVA Shop Site Map Search NOVA Archive Teachers TV/Web Schedule TV/Web Schedule Feedback