Boston Symphony Orchestra: Andris Nelsons’ Inaugural Concert

Full Episode

Last September’s gala event celebrating the start of BSO Music Director Andris Nelsons’ tenure with the orchestra features two of the conductor’s close colleagues: his wife, the acclaimed Latvian soprano Kristine Opolais, and the outstanding German tenor Jonas Kaufmann, each singing selections from the Wagnerian and Italian verismo repertoires.

The concert opens fittingly with Wagner’s Tannhäuser Overture—the work that first inspired a five-year-old Nelsons to a life in music—and closes with Respighi’s spectacular orchestral showcase, “Pines of Rome.”

The program selections shine a special focus on this exciting new collaboration between conductor and orchestra, and also include Wagner’s Prelude and Liebestod from Tristan und Isolde, with Opolais; and the Intermezzo from Mascagni’s Cavalleria rusticana.

Music Program

Wagner: Overture to Tannhäuser

Wagner: “In fernem Land” from Lohengrin, Act III – Kaufmann

Wagner: Prelude and Liebestod from Tristan und Isolde – Opolais

Mascagni: “Mamma, quel vino è generoso” from Cavalleria rusticana, Act II – Kaufmann

Puccini: “Un bel di” from Madama Butterfly – Opolais

Mascagni: Intermezzo from Cavalleria rusticana

Puccini: “Tu, tu, amore? Tu?” from Manon Lescaut, Act II – Opalais, Kaufmann

Puccini: Act I finale La Boheme (encore) – Opalais, Kaufmann

Respighi: “Pines of Rome”

Learn more about the program.