Visit Your Local PBS Station PBS Home PBS Home Programs A-Z TV Schedules Watch Video Donate Shop PBS Search PBS
Great Performances
HomeBroadcast ScheduleFeedbackNewsletter Great Performances Shop
Musical TheaterOpera on FilmClassical MusicDanceRegional PerformanceCinema
Multimedia PresentationsDialogueEducational ResourcesClassical Music
Keeping Score: MTT on Music/Tchaikovsky No. 4 in Performance: The San Francisco Symphony and Michael Tilson Thomas banner
Multimedia Presentation
Keeping Score: MTT on Music
Related Web Sites
San Francisco Symphony
San Francisco Symphony: SFS Kids
Classical Music Pages: Piotr Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)
Classical Music Archives: Tchaikovsky
WNYC: Music: The Fishko Files: Orchestra
American Symphony Orchestra League: Find a Concert


In KEEPING SCORE: MTT ON MUSIC, a fascinating behind-the-scenes documentary, conductor Michael Tilson Thomas takes viewers on a guided tour of one of the towering achievements in classical music, Tchaikovsky's "Symphony No. 4." Thomas, who describes Tchaikovsky as "one of the great melody writers of all time," explores each of the symphony's four movements, providing insightful commentary on the powerful and vibrant emotions conveyed in the composer's music. In addition, he introduces individual members of the San Francisco Symphony, who explain the challenges and joys of the music Tchaikovsky penned for their instruments -- including the violin, oboe, bassoon, piccolo, bass, and timpani.

In TCHAIKOVSKY NO. 4 IN PERFORMANCE, the companion program to the documentary, conductor Thomas ascends the podium to lead the San Francisco Symphony in a complete performance of Tchaikovsky's Fourth at Davies Symphony Hall. All four movements are performed without interruption, reflecting the culmination of Thomas' study of the score and his work with the symphony's musicians.

Immerse yourself in the rich world of symphonic music as you take an in-depth journey through Tchaikovsky's Fourth Symphony and discover more about the life and times of the composer in Keeping Score: MTT on Music, a unique interactive presentation that incorporates photos, video from both programs, music, and other activities. (The free Flash 6 plug-in is required.) Read scholar Alexander Poznansky's essay about Tchaikovsky's relationship with the woman to whom he dedicated the Fourth Symphony, his friend and patroness, Mrs. Nadezhda von Meck, and browse an English translation of Tchaikovsky's letter to her discussing the symphony. Get to know what went into the making of the documentary from the producers/directors and what it's like to perform the work from a member of the orchestra in Dialogue.

Major support for this program was provided by the Evelyn and Walter Haas, Jr., Fund and Nan Tucker McEvoy. Additional support was provided by the Irene Diamond Fund and the Ira and Leonore Gershwin Philanthropic Fund.

Top banner photos: Concertmaster Alexander Barantschik; conductor Michael Tilson Thomas; composer Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky.


The San Francisco Symphony was established in 1911 and gave its first concert in December of that year.


TCHAIKOVSKY NO. 4 IN PERFORMANCE marks the orchestra's second appearance on the series under the baton of Michael Tilson Thomas.

Great Performances Shop

The DVD, which contains both programs, is available at Shop Thirteen.
Flash 6 Plug-in Required Keeping Score: MTT on Music Keeping Score: MTT on Music