Visit Your Local PBS Station PBS Home PBS Home Programs A-Z TV Schedules Watch Video Donate Shop PBS Search PBS
Logo
On Out Own Terms: Moyers on DyingOn Our Own Terms: Moyers on Dying - HomeThirteen/WNET New YorkPBS Online
Home End-of-Life Tools Care Options Final Days Therapy and Support
End-of-Life Tools


Talk About it
Community Action
Local Connections
National Outreach
Newsletter
Project Staff
Publicity Tools
Video Conference
Resources
About the Series
Site Map
Credits
LOCAL CONNECTIONS


The steering committees listed below are part of the national ON OUR OWN TERMS outreach campaign. For information on activities in your area associated with the outreach campaign, please contact your local steering committee, or check the discussion forum for your state.

AL - FL : GA - IA : KS - MT
NV - OH : OK - VA : WA - WI



Alabama    

Kay Johnson
Project Director
Alabamians for Better Care at Life's End
SPC 220
1530 3rd Ave. South
Birmingham, AL 35249-0018
(205) 975-8183
(205) 975-9815
(877) 594-5050
kjohnson@uabmc.edu

 

Susan Hughes
The Hospice of the Valley
Marketing Coordinator
PO Box 2745
Decatur, AL 35602
256-350-5585
 
 

John Davis
Madison Baptist Association
2318 Whitesbury Dr.
Huntsville, AL 35801
mba@iol-12.net

 

Betty Laurenson
Mercy Medical Hospice
Director of Hospice & Palliative Care
3496 Springhill Avenue
Mobile, AL 36608
334-304-3135
334-304-3156
bettyl@sa-mercymedical.org
 
 


Alaska    

Kristin Freng
Outreach Coordinator
KTOO
360 Egan Drive
Juneau, AK 99801
(907) 586-1670
kkfreng@gci.net

  Sioux Plummer
Rep. Bill Hudson's Office
State Capitol, Room 108
Juneau, AK 99801-1182
(907) 465-3744 (w)
(907) 364-2564 (h)
(907) 465-2273
twoplums@alaska.net




Arizona    

Stephanie Cambio
Executive Director
Sun Health Hospice Care Services & Residence
12750 N Plaza Del Rio Blvd.
Peoria, AZ 85381-0810
(623) 815-2800
scambio@mail.sunhealth.org


  Beth Vershure
Program Manager
KAET Ch. 8
Tempe, AZ 85282
(480) 965-3506
beth.vershure@asu.edu






Arkansas    

Dr. Joe and Susi Rosenzweig
166 Peninsula Point
Hot Springs, AR, 71901
(501) 262-3756
jrosei@hsnp.com



  Mary Watermann
Shepherd's Center
106 Stonehaven Court
Hot Springs, AR 71901
(501) 623-9175
shrink@hsnp.com




California    

Jim Brigham
Midpeninsula Pathways Hospice
545 Sunnybrook Drive
Campbell, CA 95008
(408) 379-0612
justco@batnet.com

  Marge Ginsburg
Sacramento Healthcare Decisions
4747 Engle Road
Carmichael, CA 95608
(916) 484-2485
shd@quicknet.com


Pat Lightfoot
Co-Chairperson
2311 La Sierra Way
Claremont, CA 91711
patligh@ibm.net


  Karen J. Stanley, RN, MSN, AOCN
Co-Chairperson
1100 Harvard Avenue
Claremont, CA 91711
(909) 624-4816
kjstanley@earthlink.net


Amanda Schleef
KEET/Channel 13
P.O. Box 13
Eureka, CA 95502-
(707) 445-0813
amanda_schleef@ keet.pbs.org






  Josephine Caines
KOCE/Channel 50
P.O. Box 2476
Huntington Beach, CA 92647
(714) 895-5623
padams@ koce.cccd.edu


Lynne Yancy Christian
KCET
4405 Sunset Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA 90027
(323) 953-5202
lchristian@kcet.org


  Michael Schmidt
Accounts Rep
Home Health Plus Hospice
2511 Garden Road, Suite 200
Monterey, CA 93940
(831) 644-8753
mschmidt@mbay.net



Suzanne Cottle
Soc. Work (122 PAD)
VA Palo Alto Health Care System
3801 Miranda Avenue
Palo Alto, CA 94304
(650) 493-5000, x64293
Suzanne.Cottle@med.va.gov


  Diane Kelly
Director, Long Term Care
Kaiser Permanente
13652 Cantara St./Balboa Plza Bldg
Panorama City, CA. 91402
(818) 832-7491
diane.a.kelly@kp.org




Gail Meierdierk
Public Information
KIXE
603 North Market Street
Redding, CA 96003
(530) 243 5493
gail_meierdierk@kixe.pbs.org


  Sheila Butcher Smith
Community & Education Outreach Coordinator
KVIE Channel 6
2595 Capitol Oaks Drive
Sacramento, CA 95833
(916) 923-7474
sbutchr@kvie.org




Blair Blum
Vice President for Development and Communications
San Diego Hospice
4311 3rd Ave.
San Diego, CA 92103
(619) 688-1600
bblum@ sdhospice.com



  David Shaw
Director of Communications
KQED/Channel 9
2601 Mariposa Street
San Francisco, CA 94110
(415) 553-2216
dshaw@kqed.org



Frank Ostaseski
Founding Director & Guiding Teacher
Zen Hospice Project
273 Page Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
(415) 863-2910
frank@ zenhospiceproject.org



  Patricia St. Onge
KQED/Channel 9
2601 Mariposa Street
San Francisco, CA 94110
(415) 553-2402
pstonge@kqed.org


Elizabeth S. Menkin, MD
Kaiser San Jose
535 South 13th Street
San Jose, CA 95112
(408) 972-6300
(408) 297-9129
(h)
elizabeth.menkin@kp.org



 


Colorado    

Al Canner
Executive Director
Colorado Hospice Organization
1725 Bluff Street
Boulder, CO 80304
(303) 449-1142
cohosporg@aol.com


  Alison Monaghan
Outreach Coordinator
KRMA Rocky Mountain PBS
1089 Bannock Street
Denver, CO 80204
(303) 620-5684
alison_monaghan@ krma.pbs.org


Linda Trenbeath
Community Relations Coordinator
Hospice of Metro Denver
425 South Chreery Street Suite 700
Denver, CO 80246-1234
(303) 321-2828
hmdenver@rmi.net


  Janice Hill
KRMJ-TV
2520 Blichmann Ave.
Grand Junction, CO 81505
(970) 245-1818
janice_hill@ krma.pbs.org


Dan Flenniken
KRMJ-TV
2520 Blichmann Ave.
Grand Junction, CO 81505
(970) 245-1818




 

Connecticut    

Susan MacKay
Manager, Educational Outreach
Connecticut Public Television & Radio
240 New Britain Ave.
Hartford, CT 06106
(860) 278-5310 ext. 1450
susan_mackay@ wedh.pbs.org


  Peg Graham
Director
Institute for Long Term Care Policy
300 Research Parkway
Meriden, CT 06450
(203) 237-4556
inst@canpfa.org


Barbara Andrews
Acting Director
Institute for Long Term Care Policy
300 Research Parkway
Meriden, CT 06450
(203) 237-4556
inst@canpfa.org



 


Delaware    

Susan Trone
94 Gainsborough Drive
Lewes, DE 19958
(302) 644-9197 (h)




 


District of Columbia    

Dr. Gwendolyn London
DC Partnership to Improve End-of-Life Care
Executive Director
1250 I Street, NW Suite 700
Washington, DC 20005
(202) 682-1581
glondon@dcha.org




 


Florida    

Marlene Figueroa-Ross
Director of Community Affairs
WXEL
3401 S. Congress Avenue
Boynton Beach, FL 33426
(561) 364-4429
(561) 364-4448 fax
mross@wkel.org


 

Cathy Emmett
Education Liaison
Hospice of SW Florida
3355 26th St. W
Bradenton, FL 34205
(941) 739-8940
cathy@coastalweb.net

Gene Heidrich
Director of Elder Care Services
Halifax*Fish Community Health
111 N. Frederick Avenue
3rd floor
Daytona Beach, FL 32120-2830
(904) 257-6785
(904) 252-1873
gene.heidrich@ hmc.halifax.org




 

John Riordan
Coordinator of Special Projects
Halifax*Fish Community Health
111 N. Frederick Avenue
3rd floor
Daytona Beach, FL 32120-2830
(904) 322-4764
(904) 258-4942
john.riordan@ hmc.halifax.org

Portia Allen
WGCU/Channel 30
10501 FGCU Boulevard
Fort Myers, FL 33965
(941) 590-2307
pallen@fgcu.edu



 

Susan White
WUFT
2000 Weimer Hall, University Of Florida
Gainesville, FL 32611
(352) 392-5551
swhite@wuft.org





Ken Goodman
Director, Forum for Bioethics and Philosophy
University of Miami
P.O. Box 016960 (M-825)
Miami, FL 33101
(305) 243-5723
kwg@ cs.miami.edu



 

Cathy Rigney
Patient/Family Care Administrator
Hospice of SW Florida
1144 Veronica St.
Pt. Charlotte, FL 33952
(941) 627-0848


Marilyn Rewitzer
10934 Tall Oak Circle
Riverview, FL 33569
rewmj@juno.com



 

Patricia Suarez
WEDU/Channel 3
1300 North Boulevard
Tampa, FL 33607-5699
(813) 254-9338
patty_suarez@ wdeu.pbs.org