Around Independent Lens

Film Credits

Directed by
Margaret Brown

Produced by
Margaret Brown
Sara Alize Cross

Executive Producer
Christine Mattsson

Co-Executive Producer
Stephen Bannatyne

Gabby Stein

Associate Producer
Louis Black

Cinematography by
Michael Simmonds
Lee Daniel

Edited by
Michael Taylor
Geoffrey Richman
Margaret Brown

Music Supervisor
Janice Ginsberg

Additional Cinematography by
Frazer Bradshaw
Brian Rigney Hubbard

Post Production Supervisor
Paul Leonardo

Associate Editor
David Fabelo

Assistant Editor
Ricardo Springer

Field Producer
Amy Grappell

Production Sound
Justin Hennard
Josh Jacobs
Dennis Meehan
Jon Osborn
Hans Vanden Bold

Sound Post Facility
Sound One NY

Supervising Sound Editor
Jacob Ribicoff

Re-Recording Mixer
Reilly Steele

Online Facility
Final Frame

Online Editor/Colorist
Will Cox

Assistant Online Editor
Charlie Rokosny

Historical Advisor
Kern Jackson

Archival Research
Ravi Howard

Production Coordinator
Franny Stafford

Key Production Assistant
Jon Fletcher

Production Assistants
Paul Bulgin
Colleen Harrison
Stephanie Jackson
Janette Luttrell
Matt Merola
Sam Nosratian
Maggie Schutza

Office Production Assistant
Stephanie Jackson

Post Production Assistant
Victoria Valles

Adam Bernier
P. Corwin Lamm
Meredith Lippman
Gaby McKinley
Nanda Rubin
Courtney Stockmal

Acme PR

Legal Services
Sloss Eckhouse Brennan LLP

Distribution Advisory Services
Cinetic Media


“I am a Maryvale Star”
Written by Al Rawls
Courtesy of Al Rawls

“On The Sunny Side of the Street”
Written by Jimmy McHugh and Dorothy Fields
Published by Shapiro, Bernstein & Co., Inc. & EMI April Music Inc.
Performed by Duke Ellington
Courtesy of Columbia Records
By Arrangement with Song BMG Music Entertainment

“Old New York”
Written and Performer by IB Glindemann and his Dance Band
Published by Carlin Recorded Music Library Limited
Courtesy of Associated Production Music

“Such Sweet Thunder”
Written by Duke Ellington and Billy Strayhorn
Published by Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC, Music Sales Corporation and Tempo Music Inc.
Performed by Duke Ellington
Courtesy of Columbia Records
By Arrangement with Sony/BMG Music Entertainment

“Do Whatcha Wanna”
Written by Keith Frazier, Philip Frazier III, Kermit Ruffins
Published by ABITA Music Publishing O/B/O Streetbrass Music
Performed by Bay City Brass Band and Juke Box Brass Band

“Papa was a Rollin’ Stone”
Written by Norman J. Whitfield and Barrett Strong
Published by Stone Diamond Music Corp. and administered by EMI Blackwood Music Inc.

“Electric Boogie (Slide)”
Written by Neville Livingston
Published by Tafari Music Inc. obo Solomonic Music Ltd.
Performed by The Perfect Image Band

“Children's Story"
Written and Performed by Slick Rick
Published by Songs of Universal, Inc.
Courtesy of The Island Def Jam Music Group
Under license from Universal Music Enterprises

Written by Robert Wells and David Holt
Published by Morley Music Co., Administered by MPL Music Publishing, Inc. and Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC
Performed by David Cooper and The Carnival Band

“Let Your Mind Be Free”
Written by the Soul Rebels Brass Band: Lumar Leblanc, Byron Bernard, Derrick Moss, Damion Francois, Mervin Campbell, Steven Johnson, Curtis Watson
Published by Soul Rebels Music
Performed by Juke Box Brass Band

“Play That Barbershop Chord”
Written by Edmond Souchon
Published by Swing Beat Songs
Performed by Edmond ‘Doc’ Souchon
Featured on NTI CD 7080: Early New Orleans Minstrel Days
Courtesy of Tuff City Records

Special Thanks
Milton Brown
Margaret Luce Brown
Max Bruckmann
Captain Eddie Burrow
Suzanne Cleveland
David Cooper, Jr.
David Cooper, Sr.
Penny Dendy
Dora Finley
Eric Finley
Judi Gulledge
Mayor Sam Jones
Major Joseph Kennedy
Knights of the MAMGA Court
Knights of the MCA Court
Ladies of the MAMGA Court
Ladies of the MCA Court
Stefannie Lucas
Dwain Luce
Margaret Luce
Ernest Malone
Fannie Malone
Jeffrey Mandel
Maryvale Elementary School
Joseph McCray
Helen Meaher
Mary Lou Meaher
Mobile Area Mardi Gras Association
Mobile Carnival Association
Mobile Carnival Museum
Mobile Civic Center
Mobile Police Department
Steve Mussell
Dana O’Keefe
Arthur R. Outlaw Convention Center
Joseph Roberson
Sandy Shwayder-Sanchez
Enat Sidi
Paul Stekler
Brittain Youngblood

This program was produced by Folly River Inc., which is solely responsible for its content.

©2008 Folly River Films Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Home | The Film | The Making Of | The Filmmakers | Talkback | Film Credits | Get the DVD | Site Credits watch preview THE ORDER OF MYTHS home page