NOVA Universe Revealed Segment on All Space Considered

Friday, November 5
10:30pm ET / 7:30pm PT
Watch Here

All Space Considered is a free public program from Griffith Observatory held on the first Friday of every month. The program currently runs online on Griffith Observatory's official YouTube Channel. This month, Dr. Gibor Basri (UC Berkeley) and Dr. Courtney Dressing (UC Berkeley), featured experts in the new 5-part NOVA series NOVA Universe Revealed, will join the All Space Considered team with topics from Alien Worlds to Black Holes. Join the Observatory’s curatorial staff as they examine and explain the most-talked-about subjects in astronomy and space science.

NOVA Universe Revealed National Screening Event

Tuesday, November 16
6pm ET / 3pm PT

Join NOVA for a panel discussion and highlights from the five-part series NOVA Universe Revealed followed by a live audience Q&A.

Moderator:
Dr. Alok Patel, Physician and Host of NOVA Now Podcast

Panelists:

The James Webb Space Telescope, Go for Launch!

Wednesday, December 16
1pm ET / 10am PT
Watch Here

Later this month, the James Webb Space Telescope—the successor to the Hubble Space Telescope—will be launched. The James Webb Space Telescope will look backwards in time to find the first galaxies that formed after the Big Bang, trace their evolution into galaxies like our own Milky Way, and connect the formation of stars and planets with the history of our own solar system.

Join Jonathan P. Gardner, Deputy Senior Project Scientist for the James Webb Space Telescope, on a virtual field trip where he explains how his team studies the universe as a whole, from its dramatic beginnings in the Big Bang, to the mysterious dark energy that will determine its future!

Searching for Life on Exoplanets

Tuesday, January 11
1pm ET / 10am PT
Register Here

Over the last few decades, scientists have found thousands of planets beyond our own. Some of those planets might be habitable, and perhaps even inhabited already; but how can we tell?

Clara Sousa-Silva (Center for Astrophysics | Harvard- Smithsonian) looks for signs of life on other planets, using astronomical tools such as spectroscopy to detect the faint signals emitted by potential alien biospheres. In this presentation, she will answer the question: “Would we know life if we saw it?”, drawing on her experience investigating strange molecules on strange planets, such as her recent work trying to detect phosphine on Venus.

Stay tuned for more virtual field trips and screening events highlighting the new series!

Receive emails about upcoming NOVA programs and related content, as well as featured reporting about current events through a science lens.

Share this article

National Corporate funding for NOVA is provided by Brilliant.org. Major funding for NOVA is provided by the David H. Koch Fund for Science, the NOVA Science Trust, the Corporation for Public Broadcasting, and PBS viewers.