Web site credits

Web Site Credits

Lauren Aguirre, Executive Editor
Rima Chaddha, Assistant Editor
Caitlin Feeley, Web Intern
Tyler Howe, Designer
Brenden Kootsey, Senior Web Developer
David Levin, Assistant Editor
Susan K. Lewis, Editor
Melissa Salpietra, Editorial Assistant
Peter Tyson, Editor in Chief
Anya Vinokour, Senior Designer
Li Wei, Designer

Special Thanks
Tim Brown,
Lachlan Macleay
Richard Truly

Image Credits 
Astrospies homepage
Image composite: (illustration, astronaut) Courtesy U.S. Air Force

Secret Astronauts
Images: (all) Courtesy U.S. National Archives and Records Administration

The Race Today
Images: (Asif Siddiqi) Courtesy Asif Siddiqi; (Michael Griffin & Sun Laiyan, astronauts before launch, International Space Station, space colony) Courtesy NASA; (moon) Courtesy Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA)

Space Race Time Line
Images: (Bulganin/Eisenhower/Faure/Eden) © National Archives 59-G-VS-732-55; (technician with Sputnik, three men with model of Explorer 1, far side of the moon, Yuri Gagarin, drawing of the Manned Orbiting Laboratory, Aldrin on moon, Skylab, Apollo-Soyuz plaque) Courtesy NASA; (Corona photograph) Courtesy National Reconnaissance Agency; (CIA map) Courtesy Central Intelligence Agency; (Krechet spacesuit inset) Courtesy Seiji Yoshimoto; (cosmonauts testing pressure suit) © Bettmann/CORBIS

Spy Photos
Images: (map) (c) Planetary Visions; (Poland) The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration; (Cuba, Nicaragua, Soviet Union 1983, Afghanistan 1998) © U.S. Government; (Soviet Union 1986) © SPOT/EOSAT; (Kosovo) ©Agence France-Presse/CORBIS; (United States, Israel, China, North Korea, Iran, Afghanistan 2005) © Space Imaging—; (Qatar, Iraq, Sudan) © DigitalGlobe

TV Program Description
Image: (MOL crew) Courtesy U.S. National Archives and Records Administration

Program credits

TV Program Credits

Produced by
C. Scott Willis and James Bamford

Written by
James Bamford

Directed by
C. Scott Willis

Edited by
Geoff Gruetzmacher

Director of Photography
Neil Barrett

Narrated by
Jay O. Sanders

Music & Sound Design
Jonathan Mitchell

Associate Producers
Michael Dolan
Lan Trinh

Moscow Field Producer
Zamir Gotta

Moscow Camera
Maxim Karmen

Moscow Sound Recordist
Dima Zhelyanin

Sound Recordists
Tom Levy
Magee McIlvaine
Alan Tavener

Lighting Assistant
Zakary Siddle

Sputnik Animation

Assistant Editor
Magee McIlvaine

Vitali Baganov
Jakob von Eichel
Aleksey Burago

Post Production Facility
Palace Production Center

Online Editor
Francis W. Sheehan Jr.

Audio Mix
Chris Nelson

Archival Material
Edwards Air Force Base
National Archives and Record Administration
U. S. Geological Survey
Maxwell Air Force Base
CBS Paramount
NPO Mashinostroyenia
Kennedy Space Center
Johnson Space Center
National Reconnaissance Office
National Air & Space Museum,
Smithsonian Institution
Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Company
Lyndon B. Johnson Presidential Library
Barbara Lawrence

Special Thanks
N. C. " Bud" Evans
Valiant Air Command
Warbird Museum
Edwards Air Force Base,
Air Force Flight Test
Center Museum
NASA Public Affairs
NPO Mashinostroyenia


NOVA Series Graphics
yU + co.

NOVA Theme Music
Walter Werzowa
John Luker
Musikvergnuegen, Inc.

Additional NOVA Theme Music
Ray Loring

Post Production Online Editor
Michael H. Amundson

Closed Captioning
The Caption Center

NOVA Administrator
Ashley King

Eileen Campion
Lindsay de la Rigaudiere
Kate Becker

Gaia Remerowski

Production Coordinator
Linda Callahan

Raphael Nemes

Talent Relations
Scott Kardel, Esq.
Janice Flood

Legal Counsel
Susan Rosen

Assistant Editor
Alex Kreuter

Associate Producer, Post Production
Patrick Carey

Post Production Supervisor
Regina O'Toole

Post Production Editor
Rebecca Nieto

Post Production Manager
Nathan Gunner

Supervising Producer
Stephen Sweigart

Business Manager
Joseph P. Tracy

Producers, Special Projects
Lisa Mirowitz
David Condon

Coordinating Producer
Laurie Cahalane

Senior Science Editor
Evan Hadingham

Senior Series Producer
Melanie Wallace

Managing Director
Alan Ritsko

Senior Executive Producer
Paula S. Apsell


A NOVA Production by C. Scott Films LLC for WGBH Boston

© 2007 WGBH Educational Foundation

All Rights Reserved

Astrospies Home | Send Feedback | Image Credits | Support NOVA

© | Created February 2008