Share a story about your experience and how you’ve gotten to where you are today.
* required
  • I agree to the submission terms and conditions
  • By submitting this form (your “Submission”), you represent, warrant and agree that (i) the information you have provided is truthful to the best of your knowledge, (ii) THIRTEEN may share your Submission with its affiliates, WNET, WLIW, and PMNJ, its underwriters, and licensees including without limitation PBS (collectively, “WNET”), (iii) WNET may use your Submission, in whole or in part, in all manner and media, including but not limited in connection with Chasing the Dream (the “Project”), companion materials and ancillary platforms for the Project, and Project and institutional promotion and outreach, (iv) your Submission may be edited for brevity or inappropriate content, and (v) you possess or have obtained all rights necessary to grant the foregoing permissions – including without limitation privacy or publicity rights with respect to any individual(s) depicted in the Submission, and copyright in the Submission.

Lisa Swope



I was born in the mountains of southwestern Virginia and, except for two years in my 20’s, always have lived in a small town. My parents and grandparents were loving and encouraged me, as did my community and church. I have two sisters. I developed diabetes when I was eleven and have worked hard to take care of myself and achieve my goals. I attended public school, college, and graduate school. I taught high school for 34 years. I married my high school sweetheart and we adopted two foster children. Today I am still married and I retired three years ago. Whenever I travel away from southwestern Virginia, people make fun of my accent and sometimes think I am not as bright as I am because of where I come from.