Share a story about your experience and how you’ve gotten to where you are today.
* required
  • I agree to the submission terms and conditions
  • By submitting this form (your “Submission”), you represent, warrant and agree that (i) the information you have provided is truthful to the best of your knowledge, (ii) THIRTEEN may share your Submission with its affiliates, WNET, WLIW, and PMNJ, its underwriters, and licensees including without limitation PBS (collectively, “WNET”), (iii) WNET may use your Submission, in whole or in part, in all manner and media, including but not limited in connection with Chasing the Dream (the “Project”), companion materials and ancillary platforms for the Project, and Project and institutional promotion and outreach, (iv) your Submission may be edited for brevity or inappropriate content, and (v) you possess or have obtained all rights necessary to grant the foregoing permissions – including without limitation privacy or publicity rights with respect to any individual(s) depicted in the Submission, and copyright in the Submission.

Marsha Canright


I was born and raised in a small Texas town by two loving, supportive parents who valued independence, education and reading. My dad, a rancher, was among the first American POWs captured by the Japanese in WW2 and instead of becoming bitter, he was grateful to survive and embraced his life with gusto. My mom was an elementary school teacher who was an early and vocal civil rights advocate, an anomaly in our town. Both were lifelong FDR Democrats and deeply involved in the community and the church. We didn’t have much money — no families did that I knew of — but we still camped every summer at national parks and my sister and I went to Girl Scout camp. I loved high school. I had great friends, all crazy about the Beatles. I was kind of a wild teenager. I was a work-study student at the University of Texas where I studied journalism. Partly because of my parents’ encouragement, I traveled widely in my 20’s, backpacking in Europe and Asia and in the U.S. I worked as a journalist and later for the Texas WIC program and for the University of Texas Medical Branch — wonderful jobs that offered an opportunity for service. I married my best friend and we have an amazing daughter. I have always worked; I believe in the nobility of work. I am grateful for my education and my life. We live in Galveston in a 115-year old home with our dogs, cats and chickens. Our town is ethnically diverse which is important to me. I am active in the community. At 67, I freelance and volunteer. I have a loving marriage and our daughter — truly a friend — and her partner live near by. I am distressed by the current political situation but in my personal life, I am happy and at peace.