This website is no longer actively maintained
Some material and features may be unavailable
August 7th, 2003
Coca and the Congressman
Data: Events, Politics, and Coca
1538 Spain conquers the land known today as Bolivia.
1825 Bolivia becomes an independent nation.
1935 The Chaco War ends after three years of fighting between Bolivia and Paraguay. More than 100,000 lives are lost, and Paraguay gains land.
1951 National Revolutionary Movement leader Victor Paz Estenssoro wins the national election, but the military prevents him from taking office.
1967 Ernesto “Che” Guevara leads a peasant uprising, which is suppressed with U.S. support. Guevara is later caught and killed.
2002 Gonzalo Sánchez de Lozada defeats Evo Morales by 45,000 votes, becoming president for the second time.

Produced by THIRTEEN    ©2021 WNET.ORG Properties LLC. All rights reserved.