Special Features
About the Film
Educational Resources
Site Index
Shop PBS
Return to Home
Return to Home

Five Pillars
Koran and Traditions
People of the Book
Islam Today
Five Pillars

Belief | Worship | Fasting | Almsgiving | Pilgrimage

Almsgiving (Zakat)
The fourth Pillar of Islam is to give alms to the poor. Muslims are supposed to donate a fixed amount of their property to charity every year.

Many pious individuals, from the mightiest rulers to modest merchants, give money to help out the less-fortunate by establishing soup kitchens, hospitals, schools, libraries, mosques, and the like. One of the most common forms of charity in medieval Islamic cities was to establish a public drinking fountain, where fresh, sweet water was distributed freely to all passers-by. Such a drinking fountain was commonly known as a sabil, from the common Arabic expression fi sabil allah, literally meaning "in the path of God" and referring to doing something for God charitably or disinterestedly.