On StageAt The Kennedy Center
The Mark Twain Prize for American Humor
Arts in the Capital
Government in the Arts
Past Performances

From the Ceremony
Behind the Curtain
More About Bob
About the Prize
For Teachers

The Mark Twain Prize for American Humor

Bob Newhart.  Photo by WireImage: Michael Caulfield.

On Stage at the Kennedy Center: The Mark Twain Prize 2002 honored one the country’s most beloved comedians, Bob Newhart, who received the 2002 Mark Twain Prize for American Humor.

The 90-minute special, premering on November 13, 2002, featured an all-star cast of comedic greats paying tribute to Newhart. Comic and musical performances were taped before a live audience on October 29 at The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts. The celebration ceremony also included classic film and television clips.

Joining the celebration to honor Bob Newhart were:
Bill Daily, Richard Belzer, Tim Conway, Jane Curtin, Kelsey Grammer, Jon Hendricks, Jake Johannsen, Bernie Mac, Dick Martin, David Hyde Pierce, John Pizzarelli, Suzanne Pleshette, Tom Poston, Don Rickles, The Smothers Brothers, Julia Sweeney, Clark Terry, Fred Willard, and Steven Wright.


~ Mark Twain  

reload for another Mark Twain quote