Space Shuttle Disaster
Web site credits

Web Site Credits

Lauren Aguirre, Executive Editor
Kristine Allington, Project Coordinator
Darcy Forlenza, Editorial Assistant
Dan Hart, Content Developer, "Force of Impact"
Tyler Howe, Senior Designer
Alan Kwan, Developer
David Levin, Assistant Editor
Susan K. Lewis, Editor
Tacita Morway, Senior Developer
Dan Nolan, Associate Designer, Illustrator
Melissa Salpietra, Assistant Editor
Peter Tyson, Editor in Chief
Rachel VanCott, Editoral Assistant

Image Credits 
Space Shuttle Disaster homepage
Images composite: (STS-107 launch, STS-107 ready to launch) Courtesy NASA

Rescue Scenarios
Images: (STS-107 crew, STS-107 liftoff, spacewalk illustration, Michael Brown, ladder illustration, STS-117 Atlantis, Atlantis/Columbia docking illustration, astronauts crossing the gap illustration, STS-107 crew in space) Courtesy NASA; (Atlantis) Courtesy NASA/Kim Shiflet

The Investigator
Video: (Scott Hubbard, foam test impact) © WGBH Educational Foundation and The Factory All Rights Reserved; (Jonathan and Iain Clark) © J. Scott Applewhite/A.P. images; (Columbia wheel well debris, Columbia debris, foam samples, STS-107 launch, Scott Hubbard briefing the media, airgun for foam test) Courtesy CAIB/photo by Rick Stiles 2003; (crew of STS-107) Courtesy NASA

The Insider Who Knew
Image: (Rodney Rocha) © WGBH Educational Foundation and The Factory All Rights Reserved

Force of Impact
Images: (Columbia ready for launch) Courtesy NASA; (illustrations) Dan Nolan/© WGBH Educational Foundation; Video: (enhanced side views of foam strike) Courtesy Columbia Accident Investigation Board Report

The Case to Save the Shuttle Program
Image: (Allen Richardson) Courtesy Allen Richardson

A Space Age Controversy
Image: (John Logsdon) Courtesy John Logsdon

TV Program Description
Image: (STS-107 launch) Courtesy NASA

Program credits

TV Program Credits

Produced by
Frank Eskenazi

Written and Directed by
Gilles Cayatte

Narrated by
Neil deGrasse Tyson

Produced for NOVA by
Arun Rath

Olivier Raffet

Sound Recordist
Eric Ferroud-Plattet

Régine Jusserand
Jon Neuburger
Gilles Cayatte

Audio Mix
Gaël Mange

Associate Producers
Jeffrey Irvine
Katie Taber

Anita Conrade

Original Music
Gaël Mange
Rodolphe Perroquin

Additional Music
Arnaud de Boisfleury
Koka Media
K Musik

Assistant Editor
Phil Habeger

Graphics and Animation
Alisa Placas

Archival Material
CAT'S Collection
AP Images

Special Thanks
Michael Cabbage
Marco Caceres
Leroy Cain
Jonathan B. Clark
Keith Cowing
Bill Harwood
Dr Scott Hubbard
Michael Griffin
Roger D. Launius
John M. Logsdon
Howard McCurdy
Story Musgrave
Don A. Nelson
Sean O'Keefe
Douglas Osheroff
Allen Richardson
Rodney Rocha
Harrison H. Schmidt
John Schwartz
NASA Public Relations


NOVA Series Graphics
yU + co.

NOVA Theme Music
Walter Werzowa
John Luker
Musikvergnuegen, Inc.

Additional NOVA Theme Music
Ray Loring
Rob Morsberger

Post Production Online Editor
Spencer Gentry

Closed Captioning
The Caption Center

Carole McFall
Eileen Campion
Victoria Louie
Kate Becker
Karinna Sjo-Gaber

Senior Researcher
Gaia Remerowski

Production Coordinator
Linda Callahan

Sarah Erlandson

Talent Relations
Scott Kardel, Esq.
Janice Flood

Legal Counsel
Susan Rosen

Post Production Assistant
Darcy Forlenza

Associate Producer, Post Production
Patrick Carey

Post Production Supervisor
Regina O'Toole

Post Production Editors
Rebecca Nieto
Alex Kreuter
Jason York

Post Production Manager
Nathan Gunner

Compliance Manager
Linzy Emery

Development Producer
Pamela Rosenstein

Supervising Producer
Stephen Sweigart

Business Manager
Joseph P. Tracy

Senior Producer and Project Director
Lisa Mirowitz

Coordinating Producer
Laurie Cahalane

Senior Science Editor
Evan Hadingham

Senior Series Producer
Melanie Wallace

Managing Director
Alan Ritsko

Senior Executive Producer
Paula S. Apsell


© 2008 WGBH Educational Foundation and The Factory

All rights reserved


Space Shuttle Disaster Home | Send Feedback | Image Credits | Support NOVA

© | Created September 2008