Killer Subs in Pearl Harbor
Web site credits

Web Site Credits

Lauren Aguirre, Executive Editor
Kristine Allington, Project Coordinator
Kim Ducharme, Associate Director of Design
Darcy Forlenza, Editorial Assistant
Dan Hart, Developer
Jon Hayward, Designer
Tyler Howe, Senior Designer
Pamela King, Intern
Alan Kwan, Developer
David Levin, Associate Editor
Susan K. Lewis, Senior Editor
Ben Livermore, Developer
Melissa Salpietra, Associate Editor
Peter Tyson, Editor in Chief
Rachel VanCott, Editorial Assistant

Image Credits
Killer Subs in Pearl Harbor homepage
Images: (all) © WGBH Educational Foundation

Pearl Harbor Sub Discovered
Image: (sub) © WGBH Educational Foundation

Japan's Midget Sub
Images: (computer generated sub images) © Parks Stephenson; (radio) Courtesy Yokohama Radio Museum; (archival photo of net cutter) Courtesy Naval History and Heritage Command; (archival photos of the forward and aft battery rooms, batteries, conning tower, control room, motor room, propeller, pulley, tail assembly, torpedoes, torpedo room) Courtesy U.S. National Archives files "Description and Photographs of Japanese Submarine No. 19"

The Threat of Midget Subs Today
Images: (Kure Naval Base) Official U.S. Air Force Photograph; (Turtle) Courtesy Naval History and Heritage Command; (Kilo-class sub) © Associated Press; (drug smuggling sub) © Associated Press; (Tamil Tiger midget sub) © Associated Press; (ABE) courtesy NOAA, from

Anatomy of Yamato
Images: (All diagrams) © Janusz Skulski 1988, Reproduced by permission Chrysalis Books Group Plc.; (video still) © BangBang Singapore Private Ltd.

Yamato's Final Voyage
Images: (all photos except Yahagi) Courtesy U.S. National Archives and Records Administration; (Yahagi) Courtesy Mikasa Memorial Museum, Yokosuka, Japan/

TV Program Description
Image: (submarines) Courtesy Naval History and Heritage Command

Program credits

TV Program Credits

Produced and Directed by
Kirk Wolfinger

Written by
Steven Reich

Produced by
Lisa Quijano Wolfinger
Steven Reich

Edited by
Ryan Shepheard

Supervising Producer
Rocky Collins

Associate Producer and Additional Directing
Sally Levi

Underwater Camera
Brett Seymour

Joseph Brunette
Yoram Astrakhan
Paul Atkins
Sean Glenn
John Mans

Sound Recordists
Pete Nenortas
Kristopher Dennett
Gracie Atkins
Tom Eichler
Edward Thacker

Narrated by
Jay O. Sanders

Hans Indigo Spencer

Additional Editing
Jed Rauscher

Production Manager
Donna Huttemann


Rushmore DeNooyer

Post Department
Jared Flynn
Corey Norman

Mike Olcott
Nate Lavey
Tracy Bisson
Adam Farris

Business Manager
Chris Bailey

Executive Producer for Lone Wolf Documentary Group
Kirk Wolfinger

Online Editor and Colorist
Michael H. Amundson

Audio Mix
Greg McCleary

Sound Design
Geof Thurber

Archival Material
WWII: Valor in the Pacific National Monument, Photo Archive
Japanese Midget Submarine Association
The National Archives
National Park Service
Hawaii Undersea Research Laboratory, University of Hawaii
U.S. Navy — Submarine Force Museum
UCLA Film & Television Archive

Special Thanks
"Advance Force — Pearl Harbor" by Burl Burlingame, Pacific Monograph

The Army and Navy Club, Washington, DC
Battleship USS Missouri, Pearl Harbor, HI
Earle Naval Weapons Station
Fox Glass
JMSDF 1st Service School Eta Jima
Carroll Lucas (dec.)
Larry Murphy
National Museum of the Pacific War
Naval History & Heritage Command, Washington Navy Yard
Navy Region Hawaii
New Mexico Tech
Brett Seymour
Specialty Diving Services, YT-153
United States Navy
Yamato Museum
The Washington Navy Yard
Midori Yanagihara

Special Thanks to the USS Midway Museum, San Diego, California


NOVA Series Graphics
yU + co.

NOVA Theme Music
Walter Werzowa
John Luker
Musikvergnuegen, Inc.

Additional NOVA Theme Music
Ray Loring
Rob Morsberger

Closed Captioning
The Caption Center

NOVA Administrator
Mykim Dang

Carole McFall
Eileen Campion
Victoria Louie
Karinna Sjo-Gaber
Karen Laverty

Steve Sears

Kate Becker

Senior Researcher
Gaia Remerowski

Production Coordinator
Linda Callahan

Sarah Erlandson

Talent Relations
Scott Kardel, Esq.
Janice Flood

Legal Counsel
Susan Rosen

Production Assistant
Ryan Murdock

Post Production Assistant
Darcy Forlenza

Associate Producer, Post Production
Patrick Carey

Post Production Supervisor
Regina O'Toole

Post Production Editors
Rebecca Nieto
Jason York

Post Production Manager
Nathan Gunner

Compliance Manager
Linzy Emery

Development Producer
Pamela Rosenstein

Supervising Producer
Stephen Sweigart

Business Manager
Joseph P. Tracy

Senior Producer and Project Director
Lisa Mirowitz

Coordinating Producer
Laurie Cahalane

Senior Science Editor
Evan Hadingham

Senior Series Producer
Melanie Wallace

Managing Director
Alan Ritsko

Senior Executive Producer
Paula S. Apsell


A NOVA Production by Lone Wolf Documentary Group for WGBH/Boston in association with NHK and Channel 4

© 2010 WGBH Educational Foundation
All Rights Reserved

Killer Subs in Pearl Harbor Home | Send Feedback | Image Credits | Support NOVA

© | Created December 2009