Cracking the Maya Code
Web site credits

Web Site Credits

Lauren Aguirre, Executive Editor
Rima Chaddha, Assistant Editor
Darcy Forlenza, Editorial Assistant
Liz Fox, Web Intern
Tyler Howe, Designer
Brenden Kootsey, Senior Web Developer
David Levin, Assistant Editor
Susan K. Lewis, Editor
Melissa Salpietra, Editorial Assistant
Peter Tyson, Editor in Chief
Anya Vinokour, Senior Designer
Li Wei, Designer

Image Credits 
Cracking the Maya Code homepage
Image: (Maya codex) © 2008 WGBH Educational Foundation

Time Line of Decipherment
Images: (16th century, 1832, 1880, 1881, 1930s) © 2008 WGBH Educational Foundation; (1952) Courtesy Michael Coe; (1958) Courtesy University of Pennsylvania Museum; (1973) Courtesy Gillett Griffin; (1981) Courtesy David Stuart; (Present) Courtesy Night Fire Films

A Masterpiece Revealed
Images: (San Bartolo original mural detail) © William Saturno, Proyecto San Bartolo; (San Bartolo color rendering) Created by Heather Hurst, © William Saturno, Proyecto San Bartolo

Decode Stela 3
Images: (Photograph, PNG: St.3) by Teobert Maler from Corpus of Maya Hieroglyphic Inscriptions, Vol. 9, Part 1, Piedras Negras, © 2003 by the President and Fellows of Harvard College; (Drawing, PNG: St.3) by David Stuart from Corpus of Maya Hieroglyphic Inscriptions, Vol. 9, Part 1, Piedras Negras, © 2003 by the President and Fellows of Harvard College

Map of the Maya World
Images: (map) © WGBH Educational Foundation; (Chichén Itzá) © Deanna Bean/; (Tulum, Uxmal, Sayil) © S. Greg Panosian/; (Palenque) © Maxime VIGE/; (Bonampak, Quiriguá) © Charles & Josette Lenars/CORBIS; (Yaxchilán) © Craig Lovell/CORBIS; (Tikal) © Brian Raisbeck/; (Caracol) © Steve Geer/; (Altun Ha) © Graphically Speaking/; (Uaxactún) © Dave G. Houser/Corbis; (Seibal) © Gianni Dagli Orti/CORBIS; (Copán) © WGBH Educational Foundation; (Toniná) © Macduff Everton/CORBIS

Speaking Ancient Maya
Image: (Ruins of Tikal) © Keren Su/CORBIS

TV Program Description
Images: (carving) © 2008 WGBH Educational Foundation

Program credits

TV Program Credits

Written and Directed by
David Lebrun

Based on the book "Breaking the Maya Code" by Michael D. Coe

Produced for NOVA and Narration Written by
Sarah Holt

Produced by
Rosey Guthrie
David Lebrun

Associate Producers
Karen Olender
Gitanjali Rege
Jonathan Loewald

Edited by
David Lebrun
Nathan Hendrie
Eric Marin

Additional Editing
Kimberly White

Assistant Editors
Jed Lackritz
Gitanjali Rege

Amy Halpern
Steven Kline

Sound Recordists
Galen Handy
Gustavo Aguilar

Narrated by
Jay O. Sanders

Yuval Ron
Ed Tomney

Line Producer
Faith Radle

Contributing Producer
Amy Halpern

Dramatizations Line Producer
Adam Hyman

Dramatizations Art Director
Regina O'Brien

Dramatizations Costumer
Jeannine Wiest

Europe Line Producer
Laura J. Medina

Graphic design and Animation
Charles Owens

Mark Van Stone

Additional Graphics
Dan Nutu
Nik Blumish
James Bromley
Daryl Furr
Bernadette Rivero

Sound Editors
George Lockwood
Robert Todd

Cheyenne Spetzler
Josephine Volpe
Peter Coogan
Eduardo Sanchez

Spanish Voice Over
Ignacio Rivera

Online Editor and Colorist
Michael H. Amundson

Audio Mix
John Jenkins

Archival Material
Mike Beetem
The British Museum
Michael Coe
H. Dubois
Galina Dzeniskevitch
Galina Ershova/Unknown Planet Prod.
The Field Museum
Gordon W. Gahan
Kurt Ghode, Transylvania University
Gillett Griffin
Image Bank Film/Getty Images
Librarian, University of Glasgow Library
Ann Parks Hawthorne
Otis Imboden
Harri Kettunen
S. Ashley Kistler
National Geographic Society
Doug Stern / National Geographic Image Collection
New York Times/Redux Pictures
Peabody Museum of Archaeology & Ethnology, Harvard University
Merle Greene Robertson
David Schele
Char Solomon
David Stuart
George E. Stuart
Thames & Hudson
U.S. Department of Defense
University of Oklahoma Press
Michel Zabé / AZA
Rollout photography of Maya Vases © Justin Kerr, 2008
SLUB Dresden / Deutsche Fotothek

Principal Advisor
Michael D. Coe


Advisory Board
Federico Fahsen
William L. Fash
Nikolai Grube
Stephen D. Houston
Justin Kerr
Simon Martin
Peter Mathews
Mary Ellen Miller
Robert J. Sharer
David Stuart
George E. Stuart
Karl A. Taube
Barbara Tedlock
Evon Vogt

Special Thanks
IDAEH - Institute of Anthropology and History of Guatemala
IHAH - National Institution of Anthropology and History, Honduras
Ministerio De Cultura Y Deportes De Guatemala
National Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology, Guatemala City
OKMA Maya Language Center, Antigua
The Huntington Library
Center for Maya Research, North Carolina
Metropolitan Museum of Art, NY
University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology
Pre-Columbian Art Research Institute
Boston Museum of Fine Arts
Sachsische Landesbibiliothek, Dresden
Kunstkamera Museum, St. Petersburg
Christophe Helmke
Phillip Wanyerka
Marc Zender

Filming at Mexican archaeological sites and museums authorized by the
National Institute of Anthropology and History

Transportation provided by
Mexicana Airlines

For Night Fire Films

Executive Producer
Nick Noxon

FOR Arte France

Commissioning Editor
Christoph Jorg

Unité Découverte et Connaissance
Hélène Coldefy

NOVA Series Graphics
yU + co.

NOVA Theme Music
Walter Werzowa
John Luker
Musikvergnuegen, Inc.

Additional NOVA Theme Music
Ray Loring

Closed Captioning
The Caption Center

NOVA Administrator
Ashley King

Carole McFall
Eileen Campion
Lindsay de la Rigaudiere
Victoria Louie
Kate Becker

Gaia Remerowski

Production Coordinator
Linda Callahan

Raphael Nemes

Talent Relations
Scott Kardel, Esq.
Janice Flood

Legal Counsel
Susan Rosen

Assistant Editor
Alex Kreuter

Associate Producer, Post Production
Patrick Carey

Post Production Supervisor
Regina O'Toole

Post Production Editor
Rebecca Nieto

Post Production Manager
Nathan Gunner

Supervising Producer
Stephen Sweigart

Business Manager
Joseph P. Tracy

Producers, Special Projects
Lisa Mirowitz
David Condon

Coordinating Producer
Laurie Cahalane

Senior Science Editor
Evan Hadingham

Senior Series Producer
Melanie Wallace

Managing Director
Alan Ritsko

Senior Executive Producer
Paula S. Apsell


A NOVA Production in association with Night Fire Films and ARTE France

This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. 0407101. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.

Any views, findings, conclusions, or recommendations expressed in this program do not necessarily represent those of the National Endowment for the Humanities.

© 2008 WGBH Educational Foundation

All Rights Reserved

Cracking the Maya Code Home | Send Feedback | Image Credits | Support NOVA

© | Created March 2008