Mystery of the Megavolcano
Web site credits

Web Site Credits

Lauren Aguirre, Executive Editor
Gayle Añonuevo, Editorial Assistant
Harley Brown, Web Intern
Brenden Kootsey, Senior Web Developer
David Levin, Editorial Assistant
Susan K. Lewis, Editor
Anna Malsberger, Designer
Peter Tyson, Editor in Chief
Anya Vinokour, Senior Designer

Special Thanks
David Pyle, Cambridge University
John Westgate, University of Toronto

Image Credits 
Mystery of the Megavolcano homepage
Image: (Toba eruption) Courtesy Darkside Animation

The Next Big One
Images: (Peter Tyson at Semeru, Semeru erupting) © Peter Tyson; (volcanic deposits chart) © NOVA/WGBH Educational Foundation

Why Toba Matters
Images: (Sumatra satellite view, Earth and sun) Courtesy NASA; (Earth during Ice Age and today) Courtesy NOAA; (fields) © Klimensky; (Mount Pinatubo) Courtesy USGS; (meltwater iceflow in Greenland) Courtesy NASA Goddard Space Flight Center; (Drew Shindell) Courtesy Drew Shindell

A Supersized Volcano
Images: (magma volume chart) © NOVA/WGBH Educational Foundation, data courtesy Geological Society of London; (Mount St. Helens ash plume) Courtesy USGS; (car fleeing Pinatubo eruption) © Alberto Garcia/CORBIS; (Toba ash fallout) Courtesy Geological Society of London; (Pinatubo sulfur spread) Courtesy NASA Langley Research Center Aerosol Research Branch; (Lake Toba satellite view) Courtesy NASA

Blasts From the Past
Images: (map and icons) © NOVA/WGBH Educational Foundation

TV Program Description
Image: (Toba eruption) Courtesy Darkside Animation

Program credits

TV Program Credits

Directed by
Ben Fox

Produced for NOVA by
Gary Glassman

Edited by
Gideon Benari
Paddy Bird
Sean Sandefur
James Whitehorn

Associate Producers
Alison Draper
Jenette Restivo

Narrated by
Neil Ross

Brad Dillon
Bob Hanna
Ross Keith
Mark Pigden
Alex Tan

Sound Recordists
Sean Fuller
Siew Yaw Hoong
Merce Williams

Lorne Balfe
John Keltonic
Ed Tomney

Aaron Root
Darkside Animation

Assistant Editor
Ruby Wells

Production Assistant
Ben Sweeney

Audio Mix
John Jenkins

Online Editor & Colorist
Mark Steele

Executive Producers for Mentorn
Malcolm Clark
Ben Fox

Producer for Mentorn
Frank Demita

Archival Material
CRI Nancy-Lorraine
David Lea/Living Letters Productions
Library of Congress
March ARB Ca.
Tourism New Zealand
United States Department of Defense
United States Geological Survey
Visual Information Center
John Westgate
Wyoming Travel and Tourism

Special Thanks
InFocus Asia
Steven Feinberg, Rhode Island Film and Television Office


NOVA Series Graphics
yU + co.

NOVA Theme Music
Walter Werzowa
John Luker
Musikvergnuegen, Inc.

Additional NOVA Theme Music
Ray Loring

Post Production Online Editor
Mark Steele

Closed Captioning
The Caption Center

NOVA Administrator
Dara Bourne

Eileen Campion
Olivia Wong

Gaia Remerowski

Production Coordinator
Linda Callahan

Unit Managers
Carla Raimer
Karen Lally

Raphael Nemes

Legal Counsel
Susan Rosen Shishko

Jessica Ghofrani
Gregory Scott
Sara Slavin

Post Production Assistant
Joshua Thurston

Assistant Editor
Alex Kreuter

Associate Producer, Post Production
Patrick Carey

Post Production Supervisor
Regina O'Toole

Post Production Editor
Rebecca Nieto

Post Production Manager
Nathan Gunner

Supervising Producer
Stephen Sweigart

Producer, Special Projects
Susanne Simpson

Coordinating Producer
Laurie Cahalane

Senior Science Editor
Evan Hadingham

Senior Series Producer
Melanie Wallace

Managing Director
Alan Ritsko

Senior Executive Producer
Paula S. Apsell


A Mentorn Production for NOVA/WGBH Boston in association with CBC, FIVE, National Geographic Channel International, Southern Star, and TV2

Produced for NOVA by Providence Pictures, Inc.

© Copyright Mentorn, A Television Corporation Company and WGBH Educational Foundation 2006

All Rights Reserved

Mystery of the Megavolcano Home | Send Feedback | Image Credits | Support NOVA

© | Created September 2006