About GRAMMY® Salute to Music Legends


Great Performances: GRAMMY® Salute to Music Legends
Premieres Friday, October 16 at 9 p.m. on PBS, pbs.org/gperf and the PBS Video app

In collaboration with the Recording Academy®, Great Performances presents the fifth annual all-star special showcasing 2020 Special Merit Awards recipients, including Lifetime Achievement Award honorees Chicago, Roberta Flack, Isaac Hayes, Iggy Pop, John Prine, Public Enemy and Sister Rosetta Tharpe. Ken Ehrlich, Philip Glass and Frank Walker receive Trustees Award honors, and George Augspurger is the Technical GRAMMY Award recipient. Hosted by five-time GRAMMY Award winner Jimmy Jam, this year’s special pays tribute to these diverse music legends through classic performance footage and newly recorded acceptance speeches from honorees and the performers they have influenced. The originally planned April ceremony and concert was canceled due to the coronavirus pandemic, and Prine tragically died from complications of COVID-19 on April 7.