Visit Your Local PBS Station PBS Home PBS Home Programs A-Z TV Schedules Watch Video Donate Shop PBS Search PBS
Oswald's Ghost Oswald's Ghost home page

The Warren Commission

Meet the members of the President's Commission on the Assassination of President Kennedy. President Lyndon Johnson established the Warren Commission on November 29, 1963, a week after John F. Kennedy's death. The group submitted its final report on September 24, 1964.

Members of the Warren Commission on September 23, 1964.
Members of the Warren Commission on September 23, 1964. © Bettmann/CORBIS Gerald R. Ford Hale Boggs Richard B. Russell Earl Warren John Sherman Cooper John J. McCloy Allen W. Dulles J. Lee Rankin

Click on the people in the image above to learn more.

Gerald R. Ford (1913-2006) U.S. Representative (R-Michigan)
Ford would go on to become vice president under Richard Nixon in 1973, and then the nation's thirty-eighth president after Nixon's resignation.

Hale Boggs (1914-1972) U.S. Representative (D-Louisiana) and majority whip
Boggs was elected to Congress in 1946 and subsequently re-elected thirteen times. In 1972, his plane would disappear during an Alaskan campaign trip.

Richard B. Russell (1897-1971) U.S. Senator (D-Georgia)
Russell was a former Georgia county attorney and governor. He was first elected to the U.S. Senate in 1932 and won re-election six times. He would serve there until his death in 1971.

Earl Warren (1891-1974) Chief Justice of the United States, Chair
Warren was a former governor and attorney general of California. He served as chief justice of the U.S. Supreme Court from 1953 to 1969. His court's landmark decisions included 1954's Brown v. Board of Education, which declared segregation in public schools unconstitutional.

John Sherman Cooper (1901-1991) U.S. Senator (R-Kentucky)
A former judge and U. S. ambassador to India, Cooper served in the Senate from 1952 to 1955, and again from 1956 to 1973. He would be named ambassador to the German Democratic Republic from 1974-6.

John J. McCloy (1895-1989) Lawyer
McCloy was the former president of the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development. He had also served as United States High Commissioner for Germany after World War II.

Allen W. Dulles (1893-1969) Lawyer
Dulles was the former director of the Central Intelligence Agency. He had resigned from the CIA in 1961 after the Bay of Pigs invasion failed in Cuba.

J. Lee Rankin (1907-1996) General Counsel
Appointed to the Justice Department in 1953, Rankin famously argued in favor of school integration in the landmark Brown v. Board of Education case (1954). He was appointed U.S. Solicitor General in 1956. He would spend his later years practicing law in New York City.








Additional funding for this
program was provided by



Any views, findings, conclusions, or recommendations expressed in this Web site do not necessarily represent those of the National Endowment for the Humanities.