Rx for Survival — A Global Health Challenge

» skip to the content


Broadcasts | Credits for Other Programs

Program 4: Deadly Messengers

Narrated By

Brad Pitt

Produced By

Andrew Young

Written By

Susan Todd


Elaine Epstein

Edited By

Howard Sharp
David Espar

Additional Producing

David Espar

Music Composed By

Sheldon Mirowitz


Andrew Young
Eric Huyton

Sound Recordists

Paul Rusnak
Susumu Tokunow
John Haptas
Dave Schaaf
David Neesley

River Blindness Sequence By

Sarah Holt

Location Coordinators

Brazil: Sergio Andrade
Kenya (CDC): Blueye Films
Kenya (CDC): George Olang
Togo: Dr. Grace Fobi
Togo: Dr. Karabou

Animation By


John Bair

Renuka Ballal

Amber Kusmenko
Nathan Meier
Molly Schwartz

Special Effects Animation
The Molecule

Orchestration and Programming

Sheldon Mirowitz
Andreas Bjorck
Matt Mariano
Kurt Biederwolf

Dramatic Sequences Produced By

Dangerous Films, Ltd.

Richard Dale

Kim Bour

Line Producer
Gina Marsh

Director of Photography
Paul Jenkins

Tim White

Production Designer
Joseph Manser

Costume Designer
Ros Little

Make up Designer
Sarita Allison

Martin Sage

Casting Director
Natasha Greenberg

Production Manager
Nion Hazel

1st Assistant Director
Paul Dale

2nd Assistant Director
Nickie Sault

Script Writer
Andrew Bampfield

Jesse Lazear: Trevor White
Alexandre Yersin: James Flynn
Fred Soper: Martin McDougall

Series Creative Consultant

Richard Dale

Post Production

Henninger Media Services

Online: Jef Huey
Colorist: Dave Markun
Mix: Dave Hurley

Narration Record

Pop Sound

Closed Captioning By

The Caption Center

Archival Material Provided By

ABC News Videosource
America by Air, LLC
Archive Films/ Getty Images
BBC Worldwide Americas, Inc.
CBS Broadcasting Company, Inc.
KPCC Radio
"Les yeux de l'espoir", Dir. Bernard Surugue
"Mara, le regard du lion", Dir. Bernard Surugue
Merck & Co., Inc.
National Library of Medicine
NBC News Archives
Randall Olsson Photography, Inc.
Robb French
Rockefeller Archive Center
The Pan American Health Organization/WHO
U.S. Centers for Disease Control
U.S. National Archives and Records Admin.
WGBH Educational Foundation

Special Thanks

Amazonas Film Commission
Ariau Jungle Towers
Avista Hospital, Colorado
Bill Collins
Bondo District Hospital
Bronx Zoo/Wildlife Conservation Society
Bruce Benton
California Health Department
Colorado State University
Dr. Jesse Bump
Dr. Seketeli
Flushing Hospital
Greater LA County Vector Control District
Johns Hopkins Malaria Research Institute
Kenya Medical Research Institute, Kisumu
Marcelo Jacobs-Lorena
National Amazonian Research Institute
New York City Department of Health
Nyanza Provincial Hospital
Patrick Kachur
PSI - Tanzania
Rico Linhas Aereas
Romanus Mitung'e
The French Family
U.S. Centers For Disease Control
World Health Organization

An Archipelago Films Production

Series Advisors

Barry Bloom
Harvard School of Public Health

Nils Daulaire
Global Health Council

Harvey Fineberg
National Institute of Medicine

William Foege
Emory University

Katrina Hedberg
Oregon Public Health Services

Donald Hopkins
The Carter Presidential Center

Michael Osterholm
University of Minnesota

Allan Rosenfield
Columbia University

Jaime Sepulveda Amor
Mexican National Institutes of Health

Alfred Sommer
Bloomberg School of Public Health
Johns Hopkins University

Mary Wilson
Harvard University

For Vulcan Productions, Inc.

Production Assistant

Kate Blyth

Assistant Manager, Documentary Productions

Jennifer Senkler

Media Relations Manager

Michael Nank

Manager, Documentary Productions

Pamela Rosenstein

Senior Director, Marketing and Publicity

Jason J. Hunke

Director, Documentary Productions

Bonnie Benjamin Phariss


Exec. Director, Marketing and Publicity

Anne Zeiser

Marketing, Publicity and Station Relations

Adina Barnett
Erin Martin Kane
Mary Beth Lefaivre
Sara Green
Erin Francis
Lisa Cerqueira
Paula Fleming
Lee Kravetz
Patrick Ramirez

Outreach Initiatives

Julie Benyo, Education
Nanda Chitre, Impact Campaign
Vi Zahajszky, Impact Campaign

Business and Legal Affairs

Susan Rosen Shishko


Elaine Coolbrith
Paul Dickinson
Rich Parr

Post Production Associate

Laura Azevedo

Special Projects Assistant

Gaia Remerowski

Unit Managers

Mary Alice Holmes
Salme Lopez

Development Producers

Jennifer Greene
Tina Nguyen
Jason Spingarn-Koff

Series Associate Producer

Jonathan Loewald

Senior Content Director

Linda Harrar

Coordinating Producer

Walter Gadecki

Senior Producer

Lisa Mirowitz

Executives-in-Charge, Vulcan Productions

Paul G. Allen
Jody Patton

Executive-in-Charge, WGBH/NOVA Science Unit

Paula S. Apsell

Executive Producer, Vulcan Productions

Richard Hutton

Series Executive Producer

Larry Klein

A Co-Production of The WGBH/NOVA Science Unit and Vulcan Productions, Inc.