Jon Palfreman

A veteran of both U.K. and U.S. television, Jon Palfreman has made over 40 BBC and PBS one-hour documentaries including a dozen FRONTLINE reports. His programs for PBS include the Peabody Award–winning series The Machine That Changed the World, the Emmy Award–winning NOVA Siamese Twins and the Alfred I. du Pont–Columbia University Silver Baton winner NOVA/FRONTLINE Harvest of Fear. His recent FRONTLINE productions are Sick Around the World, Sick Around America and The Vaccine War.

Palfreman has received many other awards honoring the quality and accuracy of his science journalism. These include the Victor Cohn Prize for Excellence in Medical Writing, the American Association for the Advancement of Science science-writing prize (a three-time winner), the National Association of Science Writers "Science-in-Society" Journalism Award (a three-time winner) and the Writers Guild Award for best script.

Palfreman, who was a 2006 Nieman Fellow at Harvard University, has written two books. He is currently KEZI Distinguished Professor of Broadcast Journalism at the University of Oregon.

Nuclear Aftershocks
Nuclear Aftershocks
FRONTLINE travels to three continents to explore the debate about nuclear power: Is it safe? What are the alternatives? And could a Fukushima-style disaster happen in the U.S.?
January 17, 2012
The Vaccine War: vaccine war main image
The Vaccine War
Inside the raging debate: parents' right to make choices versus the needs of a community.
April 27, 2010
Sick Around America
Sick Around America
FRONTLINE travels the country examining America's broken health care system and exploring the need for a fundamental overhaul.
March 31, 2009
Sick Around The World: 27-drugs
Sick Around The World
In the debate over health care, what might the U.S. learn from the successes and failures of five other capitalist democracies?
April 15, 2008