Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Philip Roth Awards and Bibliography


Photo Credit: ©Naomi Savage

Pulitzer Prize- and National Book Award-winning Novelist

In 1997 Philip Roth won the Pulitzer Prize for American Pastoral. In 1998 he received the National Medal of Arts at the White House and in 2002 the highest award of the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the Gold Medal in Fiction. He has twice won the National Book Award and the National Book Critics Circle Award. He has won the PEN/Faulkner Award three times. In 2005 The Plot Against America received the Society of American Historians’ Prize for “the outstanding historical novel on an American theme for 2003-2004.” Recently Roth received PEN’s two most prestigious awards: in 2006 the PEN/Nabokov Award and in 2007 the PEN/Bellow Award for achievement in American fiction. Roth is the only living American novelist to have his work published in a comprehensive, definitive edition by the Library of America. In 2011 he received the National Humanities Medal at the White House and was later named the fourth recipient of the Man Booker Prize. The following year he won the Prince of Asturias Award, Spain’s highest honor.


Goodbye, Columbus (1959)

Letting Go (1962)

When She Was Good (1967)

Portnoy’s Complaint (1969)

Our Gang (1971)

The Breast (1972)

The Great American Novel (1973)

My Life As a Man (1974)

The Professor of Desire (1977)

The Ghost Writer (1979)

Zuckerman Unbound (1981)

The Anatomy Lesson (1983)

The Prague Orgy (1985)

The Counterlife (1986)

Deception (1990)

Operation Shylock (1993)

Sabbath’s Theater (1995)

American Pastoral (1997)

I Married a Communist (1998)

The Human Stain (2000)

The Dying Animal (2001)

The Plot Against America (2004)

Everyman (2006)

Exit Ghost (2007)

Indignation (2008)

The Humbling (2009)

Nemesis (2010)



PBS is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization.