Visit Your Local PBS Station PBS Home PBS Home Programs A-Z TV Schedules Watch Video Support PBS Shop PBS Search PBS
USA (1868 - 1938)
George Ellery Hale was an American solar astronomer, born in Chicago. He was educated at MIT, at the Observatory of Harvard College, (1889-90), and at Berlin (1893-94). As an undergraduate at MIT, he invented the spectroheliograph, with which he made his discoveries of the solar vortices and magnetic fields of sun spots.
In Memory of Dr. Fowler F. White


Neil deGrasse Tyson

Actors (in order of appearance)

Han Beekman
Mavt Steketee
Stefano Lecci
Herman Boerman
Irma Hartog
Hallam Murray
Nils Koenig
Madison Royal

Galileo Voices

Stefano Lecci
Francesca Giannini

Advisory Board

Steven Beckwith, Ph.D.
Trudy E. Bell
Mike Bennett
Catherine Cesarsky, Ph.D.
Chris Corbally, S.J. , Ph.D.
Richard Feinberg, Ph.D.
Alex Filippenko, Ph.D.
Wendy Freedman, Ph.D.
Mark Giampapa, Ph.D.
Owen Gingerich, Ph.D.
George Jacoby, Ph.D.
Rolf-Peter Kudritzki, Ph.D.
Seth Shostak, Ph.D.

An Interstellar Studios Production

Executive Producers
Dan Koehler
Kris Koenig

Producer and Director
Kris Koenig

Associate Producer
Anita Ingrao

Donald Goldsmith, Ph.D.
Albert van Helden, Ph.D.
Kris Koenig

Kimberly Generous White

Director of Photography
Scott Stender

Kris Koenig

Assistant Cameramen
Dan Shimer
Anita Ingrao
Nils Koenig

Production Assistant
Krista Shelby
Kristina Koenig

Assistant Editors
Patrick McMahon

NSF Grant Writers
Jennifer Oman
Debra Moon

Webmaster/Graphic Designer
Michael Moretti

Website Video Editor
Scott Flowers

Aerial Photography
Aerial Filmworks

Ron Chapple

Field Sound Recordist
Nils Koenig

Make-up Artists
Gherardo Filistrucchi
Bianca Olijerhoek

Animation Teams

Applied Computer Graphics Program at California State University, Chico

Animation Project Consultant
Clarke Steinback, Ph.D.

Director of Animation
Frank L. Pereira

Lead CSUC Team Animation Artist
Winston Thrasher

Animation Artists
Adam Clark
Andy Radar
Drew Barrows
David Brooks
Eric Keenan
John Pozzi
Mike Shanks
Rusty Robbins
Samantha Jo Thompson
Tou Lee Chang

Introduction Storyboard Artist
John Pozzi

Rendering Consultant
Chris Funk

Mirage 3D

Lead animators
Mathijs Brussaard
Kees van der Vijver

Peter Geerts
Johannes Bevelander

Additional Modelling
Mark Verkerk

Still Photography, Historical Footage and Animations © by

Caltech Archives

The Huntington Library

North Carolina Museum of Art

Suermondt-Ludwig-Museum Aachen, photo Anne Gold

Royal Picture Gallery Mauritshuis, The Hague

Réunion des Musées Nationaux / Art Resource, NY

Zeeuws Archief, Middelburg, Netherlands

National Maritime Museum, Greenwich, London

University of Texas Libraries

Museo Franz Mayer, Mexico City, México

SPL/Photo Researchers, Inc

Photographic Department, IMSS - Florence

Octavo Corp. and the Warnock Library

The Gallery Collection/Corbis

History of Science Collections,

University of Oklahoma Libraries

The Granger Collection

Alinari Archives/Corbis

Massimo Listri/Corbis

The Vatican Museum


Stefano Bianchetti/Corbis

U.S. Naval Observatory Library

Hulton-Deutsch Collection/Corbis

Russell W. Porter/Caltech Archives

Draper Family Papers, Archives

Center, National Museum of American History, Smithsonian Institution

David Malin

University of California, Lick

Observatory Publication

Master and Fellows of Trinity College Cambridge

National Optical Astronomy Observatory (NOAO)

Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy (AURA)

Sloan Digital Sky Survey


Institution for Astronomy

European Southern Observatory

Jack Haas

Leigh Arnold

National Solar Observatory

Solar and Heliospheric Observatory/NASA/ESA

Space Telescope Science Institute/NASA

Adam Riess, Ph.D.

Goddard Space Flight Center/NASA
TMT Observatory Corporation

Mirage 3D

Art Beats

Pond 5



Post Production

IO Film

IO Film Operations Manager
Steven Hernandez

IO Film General Manager
Richard Jordan

Adam Hawkey

Conform Artist
Brian Beard

DI Producer
Peter Mayer

Data Manager
James Ahern

Restoration Artist
Sheila MacMullan

Imaging Supervisor
Christopher Dusendschon

Scan/Record Operator
Ian Turpen

Chief Technical Engineer
Kevin Mullican

Software Engineer
Michael Koetter

Original Orchestration

Music By
Mark Slater

Mark Slater
Jake Parker
Mike Townend

Music Editor
David Westcott

Performed by
The London Symphony Orchestra
Singers of the London Telefilmonic Orchestra

Nick Ingman
Mark Slater

Score Preparation
Global Music Service

Christos Andreou
David Mautz
John Pill
Ian Mitchell
Wayne Urquhart
Andy Johnson
James Jones
Cara Matty

Assistant to Mr Slater
Joanna Clements

Orchestration recorded at Abbey Road Studios

Andrew Dudman

Vocals recorded and music mixed at Kore Studios, London

Gerry O'Riordan

Narration Recorded at Skywalker Ranch

Frank Rinella

Sean England

Audio Post

RH Factor

PBS Presenting Station

Mark Stanislawski
Brad Fay
Christina Robison

The producers are grateful to

Parkes Observatory
Anglo-Australian Observatory
Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)
Australian Telescope National Facility - Narrabri
UK Schmidt Telescope
Faulkes Telescope South

Cerro Tololo Intercontinental Observatory
Las Campanas Observatory
ESO La Silla Observatory
ESO Paranal Observatory
Atacama Large Millimeter Array
Laura Ventura
Hernan Julio

Lord William Parson, 3rd Earl of Rosse

Institute and Museum of the History of Science
Dipartmento di Astronomia e Scienza dello Spanzio
Paolo Galluzzi, Ph.D.
Franco Pacini, Ph.D.
Michael Mayor, Ph.D.
Karen Tomashavsky
Georgio Strano
Hotel Villa Betania

European Southern Observatory

Castle of Baarland
Rijk-Jan Koppejan
Tjerk Westerterp
Gerritsen Theatercostums
Museum Boerhaave
Ilona Six

South Africa
South African Astronomical Observatory
South African Large Telescope

Grand Telescopio de Canaries

United Kingdom
Cambridge University

United States

National Optical Astronomy Observatory
WIYN Observatory
National Solar Observatory
Large Binocular Telescope
Large Synoptic Survey Telescope
Vatican Observatory
Stewart Observatory Mirror Lab

Mt. Wilson Observatory - Dave Jurasevich, Superintendent
Hooker Telescope
University of California, Berkeley
University of California, Santa Cruz
Lick Observatory
Palomar Observatory
Katzman Automatic Imaging Telescope
Allen Telescope Array, SETI Institute
Kiwanis Chico Community Observatory
California State University, Chico

The Institution fro Astronomy
Office of Mauna Kea Management
W.M. Keck Observatory
Gemini Observatory
Caltech Submillimeter Observatory
Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory Submillimeter Array
National Astronomical Observatory of Japan
Joint Astronomy Center
‘Imiloa Astronomy Center

Harvard University

West Virginia
National Radio Observatory – Green Bank

Washington D.C.
US Naval Observatory

Yerkes Observatory

Special Thanks To

The Bengier Foundation
Ken and Katie Grossman
Dan Koehler
Steven and Claudia Lazaro
Bill Meredith
David and Karen Shelby
Tri-Counties Economic Development Corporation
Golden Valley Bank
Debbie Goodwin
Sandra Welch
International Astronomical Union
Southern Oregon Public Television
Carnegie Science Center
‘Imiloa Astronomy Center
Lars Lindberg Christensen
Pedro Russo
Yes Watches
Kiva Designs
Red Digital Cinema Camera Company

The Koenig Family

National Science Foundation Award 0813414

© 2008 Interstellar Studios. All rights Reserved.


The Film | Video | For Teachers | Schedule | News | Planetarium Program
Newsletter | IYA Calendar | Resources | Glossary | Contact Us | Site Map

© 2009 Interstellar Studios. All rights reserved.