For The Assassination of Abraham Lincoln

Narrated by
Chris Cooper

Edited by
Sari Gilman

Written, Produced and Directed by
Barak Goodman

Coordinating Producer
Kristina Cafarella

Associate Producer
Jamila Ephron

Director of Photography
Stephen McCarthy

Music Composed by
Joel Goodman

Voice of John Wilkes Booth
Will Patton

Additional Editing
Jenna Bliss

Sound Edited & Mixed by
Richard Fairbanks

John Vondracek

Stills Animation
Jung Hoon Lee

Production Assistant
Danielle Varga

Assistant Camera
Matthew Caulk

Additional Camera
Erich Roland

Len Schmidt
Mark Mandler
Mark Roy

Assistant Editing
Nora Gully

Murdoch Cambell
Todd Ranson

Key Grip
Wally Argo
Chris Thompson

Dolly Grip
Charlie Harris
Brendan O’Brien

Best Boy
Brian Johnson

Joshua Wright
Shaun Blake
David Vogel

Historical Recreations Coordinator
Kathryn Coombs

Edwin Mantell

Additional Set Dressing
Steven Lampredi

Special Effects
Brian Merrick

Assistant Special Effects
Bernard Garrett

Danette Vogel

Hair & Makeup
Jim Choate

Horse Wranglers
Jodi Nolan
Virginia Nolan


John Wilkes Booth
Guy W. Gane III

David Herold
Jason Roberts

Young John Wilkes Booth
Alexander Fedorchak

Union Cavalry Officers
Garman Bowers
Michael E. Brown
Greg Labenz
William Buser
Jeremiah Hornbaker

Grant Mudge
Joseph Carlson

Background Performers
Amos Lee Beiler
Caleb Brinson
Dawn Dilling
Eric Dilling
Robert Gallagher
Buddy Garrett
Barry Kruts
Edwin Mantell
L.K. Mayall
Dorothy Ruqus
Clement R. Smith
Jeffrey Smith
Susan Thomas-Smith
Scott E. Zeiss

Lincoln Coffin Courtesy of Batesville Casket Company

Production Credits

Ben Gold
Ariel Sheeger
Hayden Bird
Lynsay Wolfe

Samantha Iles

Craft Service
Sam Edens

Archival Photographs
Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Division
Picture History
Harvard Theatre Collection, Houghton Library
National Archives and Records Administration
Collection of Lincoln Financial Foundation, Fort Wayne, IN
Courtesy of the National Park Service, Ford’s Theatre National Historic Site
Collection of Edward Steers, Jr.
Terry Alford Collection
E.H. Swaim Collection, Georgetown University Library
Harlan Crow Library
Western Reserve Historical Society
Harford County Historical Society
Indiana Historical Society
Historical Society of Washington, D.C.
Courtesy of State Archives of Florida
Courtesy of The Frances Loeb Library, Harvard Graduate School of Design
Alexandria Library, Special Collections, Alexandria, VA
College of Southern Maryland
Collection of Seward House Museum, Auburn, NY
Joseph N. Nathanson Collection of Lincolniana, McGill University Library
The U.S. Army Military History Institute
Library of Congress, Geography and Map Division
Robert N. Dennis Collection, The New York Public Library

Stock Footage
Artbeats Digital Film Library
Thought Equity Motion
KunhardtMcGee Productions


The Heurich House Museum
The Sparta Volunteer Fire Department
The Ellis Family Farm
Caledon Natural Area
The Byrd Theatre
The Dr. Samuel Mudd House
Virginia Film Office
Strasburg Railroad
Camden Farm
Lamb’s Creek Church, King George, VA
St. Peter’s Episcopal Church, Port Royal, VA
Alger House
The New York Historical Society

Special Thanks
Doug Terry
Scott Nelson
Charlie Doutt
Nina Cox
Hope Banner
Andrew Edmunds
2nd US Cavalry Co. A
Hello World Communications
SourceMaker Lighting Balloons
Amy Rockefeller
The Museum of the Confederacy
John & Anita Pratt
Danny Fluhart
Jane Gastineau
Pam Haynes
West Virginia Film Office
Jennifer Ericson
Douglas Wilson
John F. Andrews
Jay Winik
Edna Green Medford
Michael Burlingame



Post Production
Vanessa Ezersky
Glenn Fukushima
Greg Shea

Series Designer
Alison Kennedy

On-line Editor
Spencer Gentry

Sound Mix
John Jenkins

Series Theme
Charles Kuskin

Production Manager
Nancy Sherman

Jay Fialkov
Janice Flood
Maureen Jordan
Scott Kardel

Project Administration
Kelsey Dorwart
Susana Fernandes
Pamela Gaudiano

Marketing and Communications
Laura Bowman
Jen Holmes
Patrick Ramirez

Project Manager
Lauren Prestileo

Associate Producer, New Media
Molly Longstreth Jacobs

Director of New Media
Maria Daniels

Senior Editor
Paul Taylor

Series Producer
Susan Bellows

Series Manager
James E. Dunford

Coordinating Producer
Susan Mottau

Senior Producer
Sharon Grimberg

Executive Producer
Mark Samels

An Ark Media production for American Experience

©2009 WGBH Educational Foundation
All rights reserved.

My American Experience

My American Experience photos

Share Your Story

We invite you to tell us your own stories - whether you lived through a tumultuous time period or learned about it from a relative, a book or a movie.

  • Additional funding for this program was provided by

  • Abraham Lincoln Bicentennial Commission